Julia Louis-Dreyfus to receive comedy award

Julia Louis-Dreyfus. (Getty Images)
Julia Louis-Dreyfus. (Getty Images)

Washington — Julia Louis-Dreyfus is being honoured with the Kennedy Center's Mark Twain Prize for a lifetime in comedy.

The veteran actress and comedian will be the 21st recipient of the Twain prize. The Kennedy Center announced her selection Wednesday and she will be celebrated at a gala event on 21 October.

Louis-Dreyfus started as a cast member on Saturday Night Live and went on to create a pair of iconic and long-running television characters: Elaine Benes on Seinfeld and Vice-President Selina Meyer on Veep.

She has earned 11 Emmy awards, including a record-setting six consecutive Emmys.

About being awarded the prize Louis-Dreyfus said on Twitter: "Well, this is insanely exciting."

Previous recipients of the Twain prize include Lily Tomlin, Steve Martin, George Carlin, Tina Fey, Bill Murray, Eddie Murphy and Carol Burnett. Bill Cosby received the award in 2009 but it was rescinded earlier this year.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24