After much debate about whether Chippa United were denied a legitimate goal against Kaizer Chiefs on Wednesday, the Safa referees’ department has settled the argument by saying that the referee was “100% correct in disallowing the goal”.
Chippa midfielder Boikanyo Komane thought his headed effort had brought the score level with the log leaders, but referee Jelly Chavani ruled out the goal on the basis that there was a foul prior to the ball going in.
Many had their attention on Chiefs goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune tripping over his team-mate before he was beaten by Komane’s header, and this subsequently put into question the referee’s decision to disallow what looked like a legitimate goal.
Reacting to the incident, which occurred 10 minutes from regulation time, Safa head of referees Abdul Ebrahim said Chavani was correct in signalling a foul by Chippa’s Kevin Moyo before Komane found the back of the net.
Ebrahim explained: “The Chippa United player, Moyo, places himself in a position to challenge for the aerial ball. He does not jump up, but instead impedes the Kaizer Chiefs defender from contesting for the ball in the air. He uses his body to push the opposition defender into the path of his own goalkeeper.
“At the same time, the Chiefs goalkeeper, Khune, comes out to challenge for the ball, but collides with his own team-mate who had been impeded by Moyo. The referee, Chavani clearly saw the incident and blew for a foul, as Komane, a team-mate of Moyo, heads the ball into the net. And the referee sounded the whistle before the ball crossed the line. The referee was 100% correct to award a free kick against Moyo as his action was not to challenge for the ball, but to challenge the player off the ball.’’
Ebrahim cautioned the public from condemning match officials without adequate facts.
“Yes, match officials make mistakes, but in this particular incident, the referee was 100% correct,” he said. – Safa.net