Here's the full list of the SAMA winners

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Blaq Diamond shine as Artist of the Year at SAMA27.
Blaq Diamond shine as Artist of the Year at SAMA27.
Blaq Smith/Supplied

Another year, another virtual award ceremony. This time it's the South African Music Awards, which were broadcast on Saturday, 31 July.

Hip-hop duo Blaq Diamond, made up of Ndumiso “Ndu Brown” Mdletshe and Sphelele “Danya” Dunywa, made history as the first outfit to ever be crowned Artist of the Year at the SAMAs.

The Ambitious Entertainment duo got the biggest number of votes in a category voted for by the public in a star-studded show broadcast on SABC1 tonight.

Matthew Mole’s Keep It Together took the Record of the Year award while Miss Pru’s Price To Pay featuring Blaq Diamond and Malome Vector won the Music Video of the Year award.

Kabza De Small also reigned supreme. He walked away with four gongs, the biggest number by a single artist this year followed by DJ Maphorisa with three. 

Kabza De Small’s collaboration with DJ Maphorisa as Scorpion Kings earned them Album of the Year, Duo or Group of the Year, and Best Amapiano Album for Once Upon A Time In Lockdown. His solo work, I Am The King of Amapiano: Sweet and Dust, earned him the Male Artist of the Year award.

Read more l Getting to know singer Siki Jo-An

The internationally acclaimed Master KG took home the SAMRO Composer Highest Airplay award that he shares with Nomcebo Zikode. He also won the International Achiever Award for his hit Jerusalema featuring Nomcebo.

Gospel star Bucy Radebe bagged two trophies, the White Star Newcomer of the Year and Best Traditional Faith Album for Spiritual Encounter. Sho Madjozi proved her versatility when she scooped the Best Traditional Album and Sofnfree Female Artist of the Year.

The Best Hip-Hop Album award went to Nasty C while Zinaro took home the Best Gqom Album. 

The SAMA27 virtual show was recorded in a Johannesburg studio this year. 

Here's the full list of winners.

Complete list of winners

Artist of the Year Blaq Diamond

Record of the Year Keep it Together - Matthew Mole Music Video of the Year Price to Pay - Miss Pru featuring Blaq Diamond and Malome Vector

Album of the Year Once Upon A Time In Lockdown – Kabza De Small and DJ Maphorisa (Scorpion Kings) 

Duo or Group of the Year Kabza De Small and DJ Maphorisa (Scorpion Kings) – Once Upon A Time In Lockdown

Sofnfree Female Artist of the Year Sho Madjozi – What A Life

Male Artist of the Year Kabza De Small – I Am The King of Amapiano: Sweet & Dust

White Star Newcomer of the Year Bucy Radebe – Spiritual Encounter 

Best Rock Album Orange Sunshine – Yum Yuck

Best Pop Album Tribes & Angels – Locnville

Beste Pop Album Twentig 20 – Brendan Peyper 

Best Adult Contemporary Album Rise – Ndlovu Youth Choir

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album Herverbeel – Die Heuwels Fantasties

Best African Adult Contemporary Album Amakhaya – Max Hoba

Best Alternative Album Iimini – Bongeziwe Mabandla

Best R&B/Soul Album Uhambo – Soul Kulture

Best Hip-Hop Album Zulu Man With Some Power – Nasty C

Best Kwaito Album Ama Roto EP – Reece Madlisa and Zuma

Best Dance Album The Healers: The Last Chapter – Black Motion

Best Traditional Faith Album Spiritual Encounter – Bucy Radebe

Best Contemporary Faith Album Your Kingdom on Earth – Hle

Best African Indigenous Faith Album Izwi Lakho – Mandlethu Gospel Singers 

Rest of Africa Songs in the Key of Love – Berita 

Best Traditional Album What a Life – Sho Madjozi

Best Maskandi Album kaMakhelwane – Abafana Baka Mgqumeni

Best Jazz Album Modes of Communication: Letters from the Underworld – Nduduzo Makhathini

Best Classical/Instrumental Album We’ve Known All Times – Wouter Kellerman

Best Afropop Album Ngumama – Vusi Nova 

Best Live Audio Visual Recording Journey to the World and Beyond – Sun-El Musician 

Best Collaboration Mali Eningi – Big Zulu feat Riky Rick and Intaba yase Dubai

Best Produced Music Video Hosh by Prince Kaybee feat Sir Trill – Ofentse 

Best Produced Album of the Year Umsebenzi by Sjava – Delaydem, Ruff, Webmoms, Zadok and Vuyo Manyike 

Best Engineered Album of the Year Inganekwane by Zoe Modiga – Papi Diretsi and Songo Oyama

Remix of the Year Yehla Moya – Da Capo

Best Reggae Album Persistence – Bongo Riot 

Best Amapiano Album Once Upon A Time in Lockdown – Kabza De Small and DJ Maphorisa (Scorpion Kings)

Best Gqom Album Inzalo Yekwaito - Zinaro

Lifetime Achievement Award Lebo M, Dr Lindelani Mkhize, PJ Powers 

International Achievement Award Master KG

Best Selling Artist Mlindo the Vocalist - Emakhaya 

Most Streamed Song You’re the One – Elaine 

SAMRO Composer Highest Airplay Kgaugelo Moagi (Master KG) and Nomcebo Zikode – Jerusalema


We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24