Drakenstein Municipality inaugurates DA-led council

2016-08-17 08:09

Cape Town - The Drakenstein municipality, which includes Paarl, held its inaugural council meeting on Tuesday, following the August 3 elections.

A council statement said they started work on August 12, after the election results were published.

The new 65-seat council is up from the previous council of 61 seats because the Municipal Demarcation Board created two more wards - Ward 32 and Ward 33. This meant two extra councillors and two extra proportional representative councillors.

The DA holds 43 seats - the majority - with the ANC holding 15, the EFF two, the ACDP one, Federation of Democrats one, Icosa one, PDM one and Freedom Front Plus one.

Councillor Aidan Stowman was elected speaker, councillor Conrad Poole, was re-elected as mayor, councillor Gert Combrink was re-elected as the deputy mayor, councillor Anrè Koeglenberg was re-elected as the chief whip of the Drakenstein council. 

The mayoral committee:
- Cllr Gert Combrink - Finance portfolio
- Cllr Patricia Mokoena – Corporate services
- Cllr Rean Smuts - Security 
- Cllr Johan Miller – Planning, economic development and tourism
- Cllr Koos Le Roux – Infrastructure services
- Cllr Francis Jacobs – Social services 
- Cllr Laurichia van Niekerk – Sport, recreation, arts and culture
- Cllr Lorraine Willemse – Human settlements and property management
- Cllr Reinhardt van Niewenhuizen – Communications and intergovernmental relations
- Cllr Christephine Kearns – Environmental affairs, open spaces and parks
- Cllr Rita Andreas – Rural management

Read more on: cape town  |  local government  |  local elections 2016