Last day for special voters

2016-08-02 06:34

Johannesburg - The last day of special voting ahead of the 2016 municipal elections will continue on Tuesday.  

Special voting started on Monday for the 719 225 people allowed a special vote.

A special vote accommodates people who cannot get to their voting station on the big day, because they are either physically unable to, or because they will not be in the vicinity of their voting station.

The SA Electoral Commission (IEC) received more than 740 000 applications for special votes for this election - more than three times the number received in 2011, and nearly double that received in 2014.

Of the 719 225 approved special voters nationwide, 315 597 (44%) were for home visits and 403 628 (56%) were for early votes at polling stations on Monday and Tuesday.

Among those casting special votes on Tuesday is ANC Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa, who will cast his special vote at 14:00 on Tuesday afternoon at Hyde Park High School. 

ANC national chairperson Baleka Mbete will cast her special vote at 09:00 on Tuesday morning at the Berario Community Centre, in Northcliff, Johannesburg.

DA leader, Mmusi Maimane and former DA leader Helen Zille will visit Port Elizabeth to conduct oversight at various voting stations across the Metro.

- Find everything you need to know about the 2016 Local Government Elections at our News24 Elections site, including the latest news and detailed, interactive maps for how South Africa has voted over the past 3 elections, or download the app for iOS and Android.

Read more on: iec  |  local elections 2016