CAPE TOWN Sunny. Mild.

7 day
  • Thursday 14-21°c Sunny. Mild. Sunny. Mild.
    Friday 15-22°c Sunny. Mild. Sunny. Mild.
    Saturday 16-22°c Morning clouds. Mild. Morning clouds. Mild.
    Sunday 16-21°c High level clouds. Mild. High level clouds. Mild.
    Monday 15-18°c More sun than clouds. Mild. More sun than clouds. Mild.
    Tuesday 14-19°c Mostly sunny. Mild. Mostly sunny. Mild.
More News

Thandi Modise is new NCOP chair

2014-05-22 12:47
Cape Town - Former North West premier Thandi Modise was elected chair of the National Council of Provinces on Thursday.

Modise, who was elected unopposed, paid tribute to her predecessor Mninwa Mahlangu.

"Just as I and the outgoing chairperson might be buying the same shoes from the same brand of the ANC, it is quite clear that I do not have to fit my feet into these shoes, but must continue to make sure his legacy, his aspiration to take this house somewhere, will remain committed to," Modise said.

The new NCOP chair told MPs that because 80% of delegates in the House were new to Parliament, they should attend training programmes.

"The NCOP has a unique and important role to play. It represents provinces to ensure that provincial interests are taken into account in the national sphere of government," Modise said.

"As permanent delegates to the NCOP, I must implore you to look beyond your party politics and unite in the pursuit of better responses to the vexing challenges that are facing our people," she said.


Raseriti Tau was elected as her deputy, also unopposed.

Earlier, Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng swore in the 54 permanent delegates to the NCOP.

The NCOP comprises 90 delegates altogether.

Fifty-four of these are permanent delegates, who are appointed by provincial legislatures, and 36 are special delegates. The 36 special delegates are members of provincial legislatures.

The 54 permanent delegates - six from each province - are not members of provincial legislatures.

They are designated by their parties to serve in the NCOP as permanent delegates and the provincial legislatures appoint them to do so.

The African National Congress has 33 permanent delegates and 27 special delegates; the Democratic Alliance 13 permanent and seven special delegates; the Economic Freedom Fighters six permanent and one special delegate; the Inkatha Freedom Party one permanent delegate and no special delegates; the United Democratic Movement one permanent delegate and no special delegate; and the National Freedom Party has no permanent delegates and one special delegate.
Read more on: thandi modise  |  elections 2014

More In This Category
IEC announces by-election date

The IEC has announced a date for municipal ward by-elections.

ANC Limpopo urges party to rebuild, dismisses early conference talk

The ANC in Limpopo has vowed to reform itself and has urged branches to focus on rebuilding instead of holding an early special conference or consultative conference.

3 more arrests for slain DA councillor, partner

Three more people have appeared in court in connection with the murders of DA councillor Johannes Baatjies and his business partner, the Northern Cape Hawks have said.

ANC 'colluding' MEC in hung councils hits back at IFP

KwaZulu-Natal Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs MEC Nomusa Dube-Ncube has hit back at the Inkatha Freedom Party which has accused her of working with the ANC to stall processes in hung municipalities.

Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.