Ask an expert
Question

29 Jan 2009

What is whey?
I' m interested in taking a protein supplement as I don' t get much protein in my diet. I don' t eat red meat and diary is an incompatible food for me. The ingredient list of these protein supplements can be confusing and I can' t figure out if they contain dairy! What is whey protein and is it dairy based at all?
Answer 302 views
Expert
DietDoc
DietDoc

01 Jan 0001

Dear Lee
Whey is the watery substance obtained when full-cream milk is separated. If you are either lactose intolerant or suffer from a milk protein allergy you won't be able to use products that contain whey. You will have to use a soya protein supplement or add soya milk and soya products to your diet to boost your protein intake.
Best regards
DietDoc
The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical examination, diagnosis and formal advice. Health24 and the expert accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.