Ask an expert

13 Jan 2008

Vegetarian - avo lacto
I am a vegetarian, but do eat fish and chicken, occasionally. I came across an airline special needs menu. What is the difference between a vegetarian and vegetarian - avo lacto?

Answer 544 views

01 Jan 0001

Dear Muz
Vegetarian diets can be divided into various categories: 1) Lacto-ovo-vegetarian where the individual eats all foods derived from plants plus all dairy products (milk, cheese, yoghurt) and eggs - hence the 'lacto-ovo' part of the name. 2) Strict vegetarians or vegans only eat plant foods and avoid ALL foods derived from animals. If you still use eggs and milk and dairy products, then you would select the ovo-lacto-vegetarian menu on the airline.
Best regards
The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical examination, diagnosis and formal advice. Health24 and the expert accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.
Voting Booth
Have you entered our Health of the Nation survey?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
32% - 9435 votes
68% - 19997 votes