Gift an article

A Gordimer, two Coetzees, and a Galgut: 4 South African novels that have won the Booker Prize

Share your Subscriber Article
You have 5 articles to share every month. Send this story to a friend!
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Loading, please wait...
play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
South African author, Damon Galgut. (Photo by David Levenson/Getty Images)
South African author, Damon Galgut. (Photo by David Levenson/Getty Images)

"It's the ultimate prize to win in the English-speaking world," JM Coetzee said after he won his second Booker Prize in 1999 for his novel, Disgrace.   

Coetzee, who also received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003, was the first-ever author to win the Booker more than once, after also taking home the award in 1983 for Life & Times of Michael K.

The Booker Prize was first awarded in 1969 to PH Newby for his Something to Answer For. Back then, the prize money was around £5 000. On Wednesday night, South African Damon Galgut won the 2021 Booker Prize for his book The Promise, and took home £50 000 (just over R1 million).

Read this for free
Get 14 days free to read all our investigative and in-depth journalism. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed.
Already a subscriber? Sign in
Editorial feedback and complaints

Contact the public editor with feedback for our journalists, complaints, queries or suggestions about articles on News24.