Gift an article

Queer writers win at the LAMBDA Literary Awards

Share your Subscriber Article
You have 5 articles to share every month. Send this story to a friend!
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Loading, please wait...
Queer writers bring home the prize at the LAMBDA awards
Queer writers bring home the prize at the LAMBDA awards

For over 30 years, LAMBDA Literary has championed LGBTQ books and authors. The organisation traces its literary beginnings to the publication of the LAMBDA Literary report in 1987, by L. Page (Deacon) Maccubbin, which drew attention to LGBTQ titles. Two years later, the LAMBDA Literary Awards (the Lammys) were established in 1989.

At that first gala event, honors went to such distinguished writers as National Book Award Finalist Paul Monette (Borrowed Time), Dorothy Allison (Trash), Allan Hollinghurst (The Swimming Pool Library), and Edmund White (The Beautiful Room is Empty). The purpose of the Awards in the early years was to identify and celebrate the best lesbian and gay books in the year of their publication. 

In conversation with Vanity Fair, executive director Landers tells writer Erin vanderhoof, “In a world where queer lives remain under threat to various degrees, the Lammys are a very precious space that values great writing and queer identity. The Lammys recognize the quality of one’s writing, but also says that it’s inherently valuable because it’s queer.”

Read this for free
Get 14 days free to read all our investigative and in-depth journalism. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed.
Already a subscriber? Sign in
Editorial feedback and complaints

Contact the public editor with feedback for our journalists, complaints, queries or suggestions about articles on News24.