Share

Team Trinity

accreditation
Team Trinity by Fiona Snyckers (Modjaji Books)
Trinity Luhabe feels like her parents have completely let her down when they announce she will have to attend boarding school for a term while they travel overseas for business. However, life as a boarder is not at all what Trinity expects.

Even if she is forced to cut down on her wardrobe, share a room with five other girls and deal with the attentions of two gorgeous boys!

Team Trinity is the third instalment of Fiona Snyckers’ Trinity Luhabe series. However, this is a prequel and can be read without reading the first two in the series, as I have done.

It is wonderfully refreshing to read a Young Adult novel set in Johannesburg. Trinity mentions many familiar places and brands throughout the novel which makes it so much more relatable to the average South African reader.

The writing and tone is spot-on and completely captures the teenage experience. Trinity is witty and her point of view is fun and engrossing to read. She also has to deal with a few real teenage issues and learn from her mistakes.

Problems such as the pressures dieting, fitting in and knowing when you are in a good or bad relationship are all approached in Team Trinity.

A blend between chick-lit and Spud, Team Trinity will appeal to a wide age group. And there is an interesting, unexpected twist that had me thinking about possible clues that could have given it away once I had put the book down.

Fans of authors such as Meg Cabot and Sarah Dessen will enjoy Trinity’s quirky narrative style and insights into the world of a Joburg Northern suburbs teenager.

Team Trinity is the perfect book to curl up with this winter. And once you are done with that, the first two in the series, Trinity Rising and Trinity On Air are sure to be just as entertaining!

Read more of Monique's book reviews on her blog.

Follow Women24 on Twitter and like us on Facebook

Keen on reading this book? Buy your copy now.


We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
heading
description
username
Show Comments ()
Editorial feedback and complaints

Contact the public editor with feedback for our journalists, complaints, queries or suggestions about articles on News24.

LEARN MORE