Mzansigospel Nominees Announcement & Celebration Event

Raaloe Media hosted the first annual MzansiGospel Awards Nominees announcement & Celebration Event to honour those stars who shone brighter than others in the contemporary gospel music industry. The star studded event was held at the Mosaiek Lifestyle, Fairlands in Johannesburg, Saturday, 16 May 2015.

This glitzy event was attended by the key players in the gospel industry, different media houses as well as the stars of the night with performances by Mabongi, Lebo Sekgobela, Sandile Cele and Blaque Nubon. The performances were a testament of what these awards are about, which is the contemporary and unconventional side of gospel music.

Mpho Regalo, our fallen soldier in the gospel industry, who was also going to be part of the performances in these awards was honoured and remembered with a moving tribute by Mabongi and Sandile Cele.

Loyiso Bala and We Will Worship dominated the announcement with 7 nominations each.

New sensation Lilly Million stunned the crowds by receiving 5 nominations, scoring the same amount of nominations as the legendary Benjamin Dube, internationally acclaimed songwriter and singer Neville D and multi awards winning group Spirit of Praise singing

Right on their heels with 4 nominations each, is the King of South African gospel music Sfiso Ncwane, newcomer Tebello, electrifying Afrikaans band Duis:lig, the ever passionate Lundi Tyamara and Rock/Pop’s best Joe Niemand.

The chasing pack contains Lebo Sekgobela, Spax & Newlight with 3 nominations alongside Winnie Mashaba, Blaque Nubon, Colby, Rudzani and others with 2 nominations each.

In the “Album of the Year” category industry heavyweights Kelly Khumalo, Khuli Chana, Maleh, Ntokozo Mbambo and The Muffinz go head to head in what is sure to be one of the highlights of the night.

The “Duo or Group of the Year” category will be a fiercely contested affair as Chosen, Spax & Newlight, Spirit of Praise, We Will Worship and Agape African Choir vie for the much-coveted statuette.

Female Artist of the Year” sees a strong field of nominees, namely Tebello, Miriam, Lebo Sekgobela, Lilly Million and Vengy.

“Male Artist of the Year” will be another epic battle on the night as the likes of Loyiso, Neville D, Sfiso Ncwane, Joe Niemand and Benjamin Dube vie for top honours.

The closely contested “Newcomer of the Year” category is one to watch out for as Tebello, Lilly Milion, Blaque Nubon, Vengy and Dudu Tsobane go head to head.

MzansiGospel Awards visionary leader, Edzani Raaloe gave a very clear picture of what the awards are about, clarifying that MzansiGospel Awards are here to complement the other awards in the gap that he saw of the very fast growing genres within the gospel music industry, the contemporary and the unconventional gospel music. “We vow to be the multiracial awards that honour both black and white artists in the growing genre of contemporary and unconventional gospel music.

The nominee announcements, were made by a panel which consisted of Radio Personality Dany Vambili, Artist Publicist Siya Mtol, Move Magazine Content Producer, Masingita Masiya and MzansiGospel Awards visionary leader Edzani Raaloe joined them.