Draws made for tournament

The 2017-’18 Telkom Knockout Tournament (TKO) was launched in Johannesburg on Monday (16/10) with the draw pairing the 16 teams to compete for the championship.

The draw saw Bloemfontein Celtic draw against SuperSport United, while Free State Stars will take on Bidvest Wits.

Phunya Sele Sele won this cup in 2012 under former coach Clinton Larsen.

Ea Lla Koto won the trophy in 1994 under a different title sponsor (Coca-Cola Cup) and their late Zimbabwean coach Peter Nyama.

This year’s TKO is also centered on rewarding the passionate supporters of the game.

Whichever team one supports, Telkom will give every fan a chance to win big this season.

To start winning, supporters can dial *123# from a Telkom prepaid sim card, purchase a bundle and see their purchase multiplied by the combined score of the game with the most goals in each round of the Telkom Knockout – 0% heartbreak and 100% winnings.

Cambridge Mokanyane, Telkom’s chief marketing officer, said: “The convention in football says the team that scores the most goals, wins.

“Telkom is taking away the heartbreak of losing by en-abling everyone to win.

“The only thing that matters in this competition is the final score line.

“Simply dial *123# from a Telkom prepaid sim and stand a chance to win big.”

More exciting news for Telkom prepaid subscribers who enter the competition is that there are massive cash prizes to be won in each round of the tournament.

Entrants stand a chance of winning R100 000.

The quarterfinal comes with an increased amount of R150 000 and the semi-final will give the entrants a chance to get their hands on R250 000.

There is a massive cash prize of R500 000 to be won by a lucky fan in the final.

Telkom has not only gone big for its prepaid subscribers but have opened a platform where any football fan can nominate a deserving school to win football kit and equipment.

In addition to this prize, each school will receive a football clinic.

To nominate a school, fans can SMS the name of the school to 33927.

The winning schools will be announced at the TKO final round.

Mato Madlala, Premier Soccer League (PSL) acting chief executive, said: “Now-adays sponsors and rights holders have realised that we have to enhance the experience of the spectator and also reward loyalty.

“The partnership between PSL and Telkom, which goes back to over 17 years, demonstrates that we as PSL have a strong product that gives confidence to partners like Telkom.

“We are looking forward to another edition of TKO, but we know that things are going to be different.”

Silver Stars (now Platinum Stars) were the first winners of the TKO in 2006. Since then the likes of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Mamelodi Sundowns, SuperSport United, Ajax Cape Town, Bloemfontein Celtic and Cape Town City have had the chance to get their hands on the trophy.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Lockdown For
Voting Booth
Is social media doing more harm than good?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Yes, our children are exposed and we can't protect them
49% - 3375 votes
Yes, but social media is part of the new reality
46% - 3137 votes
No, it's great for growing a child's world view
5% - 338 votes
Brent Crude
All Share
Top 40
Financial 15
Industrial 25
Resource 10
All JSE data delayed by at least 15 minutes Iress logo