Greytown Gazette

Hermannsburg Happenings

Trophy winners at the recent high school awards.
Trophy winners at the recent high school awards.

DETAILS of the high school awards ceremony:
Grade 8: Lydia Köhne (Half-colours for Swimming, Hockey & Academics and Full Colours Environmental Studies); Clara Kohrs (Half-colours academics); Anna Kremnitzer (Half-colours Swimming); Angelika Meyer (Half-colours Swimming & Hockey); Ntandoyenkosi Mpungose (Half-colours Hockey); Erich Ortmann (Half-colours­ Swimming); Kirsten Ortmann (Half-colours Academics); Dieter Volker (Half-colours Swimming).

Grade 9 awards: Siobhan de Bruyn (Half-colours hockey); Ayanda Dlamini (Certificate of Excellence - Speech and Drama Festival); Nonjabulo Khoza (Certificate of Excellence - Speech and Drama Festival); Charlize Vermeulen (Half-colours Athletics); Holger Filter (Half-colours swimming); Ntokozo Zondi (Certificate of Excellence - Speech and Drama Festival).

Grade 10 awards: Hugh Bouwer (Half-colours Swimming, Full-colours Environmental Studies and Academics); Christel Brüggemann (Half-colours Swimming, Athletics & Academics and Honours Environmental Studies); Rhonda Christiansen (Half-colours swimming & Athletics and Full-colours Music); David Cunningham (Half-colours Swimming); Luke Hayward (Half-colours Swimming and Honours Environmental Studies); Sven Klar (Half-colours Swimming & Athletics and Full-colours Environmental Studies); Meike Meyer (Full Colours Athletics and Music); Enoch Mnikati (Half-colours Athletics & Hockey); Kabelo Molefe (Half-colours Athletics); Nomvuyo Nkosi (Half-colours athletics); Jordan Pope (Half-colours Swimming and Full Colours Athletics & Music); Elisabeth Tönsing (Half-colours academics); Liezl Volker (Half-coloursr Swimming).

Grade 11 awards: Terry-Lynn Costello (Half-colours Athletics & Academics); Zothani Dlamini (Half-colours Hockey); Joel dos Santos (Half-colours Swimming & Academics); Kelly-Dean Herbst (Half-colours Swimming); Imke Marx (Honours Hockey); Ayanda Nzama (Half-colours Hockey, Full Colours and Scroll of Excellence for Environmental Studies); Rupert Meyer (Full ColoursMusic); Riaan Olivier (Half-colours Hockey and Full Colours Swimming & Athletics); Tabea Röhrs (Half-colours Academics & a Merit certificate the National De Beers English Olympiad); Danielle Schweiger (Half-colours Swimming & Athletics and Full Colours Music).

Sportswoman of the Year Trophy, kindly sponsored by Principal, Mr Martin Marx, was shared by: Lydia Köhne and Ilse Ortmann. Sportsman of the Year Trophy, also sponsored by Mr Martin Marx, went to Jordan Pope. Ian Younge Cricket Trophy went to the most enthusiastic Cricket player of the year, Luke Hayward. Lindemann Grade 10 and 11 Life Orientation Trophy went to Imke Marx; HMB School Trust Prize for excellence & dedication in environmental matters went to Zothani Dlamini.

Awards were made in the various subjects for excellent achievement: Certificates of Merit for excellent results in German at their respective levels (either Home Language­, Intermediate or Second Additional Language) went to Chané­ Roodt, Ashira Aheer, Lydia Köhne, Nonjabulo Khoza, Simon Röhrs, Hugh Bouwer, Elisabeth Tönsing and Tabea Röhrs. Philile Zuma received a cash prize for isiZulu First Additional Language. Mevrou Olivier Trophy for Afrikaans First Additional Language (Grade 8 or 9) went to Simon Röhrs. Brooks Family Trophy for Afrikaans First Additional Language (Grade 10 or 11) went to Hugh Bouwer, who also received the Khiren Maharaj Memorial Trophy for Accounting.

Lydia Köhne received the Tania de Bruyn Eisteddfod Trophy and the book prize, donated by the Hermannsburg­ Congregation, for Confirmation classes - she also received the Du Toit-KZN Youth Choir Floating trophy, kindly sponsored by Mr Gérard’d du Toit. Tristan­ Hiestermann Music Potential Trophy, kindly sponsored by Mrs Zelda Hiestermann, went to Clara Kohrs.

The Eckart & Monica Meyer Music Progress Trophy went to Elisabeth Tönsing. Kohrs Family Music Theory Trophy, went to Terry-Lynn Costello. Ntokozo Zondi was awarded the new Byron Bure Top Achiever in Speech and Drama Trophy, kindly sponsored by Mr Byron Bure.

Subject Scholarships were awarded as follows: the Waltraut Müller-Nedebock Grade 8 EMS scholarship to Kirsten Ortmann, while the Waltraut Müller-Nedebock Grade 9 EMS scholarship went to Nonjabulo Khoza. Waltraut Müller-Nedebock KZN Youth Choir member scholarship went to Elisabeth Tönsing. Jürgen Greve Environmental Studies Scholarship went to Terry-Lynn Costello.

The Rolf Rohwer Afrikaans First Additional Language scholarship, and the Erich Buhr Mathematics scholarship­ were both awarded to Hugh Bouwer.

We congratulate all the award winners and their parents on their fine achievements and wish our whole Hermannsburg family a joyous and safe Christmas holiday.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Lockdown For
Voting Booth
As South Africa faces down the third Covid-19 wave, how are you keeping your family safe ?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Staying at home, isolating and being careful
18% - 953 votes
Sanitising and wearing masks when we go out
68% - 3579 votes
Going on as usual, we're not afraid of the virus
14% - 716 votes
Rand - Dollar
Rand - Pound
Rand - Euro
Rand - Aus dollar
Rand - Yen
Brent Crude
Top 40
All Share
Resource 10
Industrial 25
Financial 15
All JSE data delayed by at least 15 minutes Iress logo