Ruling party maintains control in Ward 18 following by-elections

PHOTO: suppliedWard 18’s new councillor Mabhungu Moses Mkhize.
PHOTO: suppliedWard 18’s new councillor Mabhungu Moses Mkhize.

THE ANC beat the EFF in last week’s by-election in Ward 18, which was contested by only two candidates.

The ward, which includes areas of Mpumelelo and Unit 14, was left without a councillor when ANC’s Sindi Gwala died in June.

The area’s new councillor is Mabhungu Moses Mkhize, who secured 3 013 votes, while the EFF’s Alex Zandiswa Mabaso got only 396.

Mkhize’s victory shattered the EFF’s aspiration to register Ward 18 as its first victory in Msunduzi as the party does not control any of Msunduzi’s 39 wards.

ANC provincial spokesperson Ricardo Mthembu said the ruling party also retained the seat it won in 2016 in Ward 10, in Ixopo’s Ubuhlebezwe Municipality. Its candidate, Nkosinathi Conrad Ngcongo, comfortably won the ward with 76,13% as he got 976 votes while EFF’s Nobuhle Mzizi only got 54 votes.

“The by-election results clearly show that the ANC is working hard towards making serious inroads in the 2021 local government elections and that more work still needs to be done to capture the minds and hearts of our people,” said Mthembu.

Meanwhile, the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) team was scheduled to be in Ward 33, which includes Jika Joe and parts of the CBD, this past weekend to register voters for the upcoming by-election.

In November, the DA-controlled ward will be going to the polls for the second time since the 2016 local government elections as councillor Uraisha Haswell resigned in 2017 and Nkululeko Mkhize was then elected into the position. Mkhize has also since resigned to pursue a career in the private sector.

The voting stations will be open from 8 am to 5 pm on both Saturday and Sunday to allow all eligible voters to register and for current voters to confirm their registration details.

“Voters should take their identity document with them — either a green bar-coded ID book, a smartcard ID, or a valid temporary ID certificate. They will also need to complete their physical home address on registration or provide sufficient particularities of their place of residence,” said IEC’s Kate Bapela, who added that a documented proof of address, such a municipal account, was not required.

Four voting stations will be open, located at Shri Vishnu Primary School, DUT Riverside campus, Allison Homes, and Scottsville Primary.

“Voters are reminded that it is a criminal offence to register and vote in a ward in which they are not ordinarily resident,” said Bapela.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Lockdown For
Voting Booth
When a Covid-19 vaccine for under 16's becomes available, will you be taking your children to get it?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Yes, immediately!
38% - 3978 votes
I'll wait to see how others respond
26% - 2715 votes
No, I don't think they need it
36% - 3839 votes
Brent Crude
All Share
Top 40
Financial 15
Industrial 25
Resource 10
All JSE data delayed by at least 15 minutes morningstar logo