Bay in control of its own lifesaving clubs

NELSON Mandela Bay now has control over its own lifesaving clubs with the official launch of Lifesaving Nelson Mandela Bay (LNMB) on August 26 at the Bluewater Bay Surf Lifesaving Club.

Previously, all lifesaving clubs in the Eastern Cape had to report to a provincial committee, namely Lifesaving Eastern Cape, which, in turn, leased with Lifesaving South Africa (LSA).

LSA is the National Association for Lifesaving and Lifesaving Sport in South Africa and it leads, supports and partners with national and international organisations committed to drowning prevention, water safety supervision, emergency response and sport.

LSA received a directive from the Department of Sport and Recreation and the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) to form new district bodies.

As a result of this decision, a new district body for the six lifesaving clubs in Nelson Mandela Bay has been formed and will operate under the name Lifesaving Nelson Mandela Bay.

“The hope is that the new district bodies will allow for greater efficiency in addressing the local clubs’ needs and concerns,” said Andrew Marriott, Media Officer for Lifesaving Eastern Cape.

“The concept of district lifesaving bodies has proven to be very effective in other provinces and hopefully it can be successfully replicated in the Eastern Cape.”

Earl Ingram, Chairman of the Seagulls Surf Lifesaving Club in Humewood, has been elected as the Chairman of LNMB.

Lifesaving awards:

In addition to the launch of LNMB, August 26 also saw the presentation of The Long Service Award and the Lifesaving South Africa Junior Male Athlete of the Year Award.

The Long Service Award is a certificate awarded by LSA, in conjunction with Royal Lifesaving’s 125th Anniversary, to those members of lifesaving clubs who have unselfishly devoted 25 or more years to the values and mission of the lifesaving association.

In the Eastern Cape, Grant Breetzke of Sardinia Bay Surf Lifesaving Club, Robert Smith of Woodridge Surf Lifesaving Club, and Victor Woodhead of Kings Beach Surf Lifesaving Club were given such a certificate for their 43, 45 and 61 years of service respectively.

The Lifesaving South Africa Junior Male Athlete of the Year Award is an award which is given to a lifesaver, which has proven him or herself in the competitive arena of sports lifesaving, both provincially and at national competition levels. This year it was awarded to Daniel Jones from Kings Beach Surf Lifesaving Club.

Additionally, the Bluewater Bay Surf Lifesaving Club received the Bavo Verheyden Trophy for the best drowning prevention initiative shown among all clubs in the past year.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Lockdown For
Voting Booth
When a Covid-19 vaccine for under 16's becomes available, will you be taking your children to get it?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Yes, immediately!
38% - 2955 votes
I'll wait to see how others respond
26% - 2040 votes
No, I don't think they need it
36% - 2866 votes
Brent Crude
All Share
Top 40
Financial 15
Industrial 25
Resource 10
All JSE data delayed by at least 15 minutes morningstar logo