About Us

accreditation
0:00
play article
Subscribers can listen to this article

News24 is South Africa's most trusted and largest news brand that has been synonymous with breaking news, award-winning journalism and pioneering multimedia since 1998.

We tell the everyday stories of South Africans in words, visuals and sound. With over 1.5m unique users on our platforms each day, News24's journalism continues to shape the news agenda and public debate.

We get it first and we get it right.

We investigate and expose wrongdoing, hold political and private power to account, and delight our readers with the best in sport, entertainment, lifestyle and the arts. Our opinions, analyses and explainers cover a wide range of topics and reflect a diversity of voices.

Our team of approximately 100 journalists are based in Cape Town, Johannesburg, Pretoria, Durban and Port Elizabeth. Our vertical brands include Fin24, Sport24, Channel24, Health24, Arts24, Parent24, Wheels24, W24 and Business Insider SA.

News24 is owned by Media24, South Africa's leading media company, with interests in digital media and services, newspapers, magazines, e-commerce, book publishing, print and distribution.

Media24 is part of Naspers, a multinational group of media and e-commerce platforms.

Editor-in-chief: Adriaan Basson (adriaan@24.com)

Assistant editor (breaking news): Sheldon Morais (sheldon.morais@24.com)

Assistant editor (in-depth news): Pieter du Toit (pdutoit@24.com)

Fin24 editor: Helena Wasserman (helena@24.com)

Political editor: Qaanitah Hunter (qaanitah.hunter@24.com)

Business Insider SA editor: Larry Claasen (larry.claasen@24.com)

Sport24 editor: Lloyd Burnard (lloyd.burnard@24.com)

Lifestyle editor: Herman Eloff (herman.eloff@24.com)

Managing Editor: Mpho Raborife (mpho.raborife@24.com)

For suggestions, compliments or complaints about content, contact News24 Public Editor George Claassen (george.claassen@media24.com).

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
Zama zama crackdown: What are your thoughts on West Village residents taking the law into their own hands?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
Authorities should bring in the army already
11% - 2088 votes
Illegal miners can't be scapegoated for all crime
47% - 8828 votes
What else did we expect without no proper policing
38% - 7086 votes
Vigilante groups are also part of the problem
4% - 695 votes
Vote
Rand - Dollar
16.42
+0.1%
Rand - Pound
19.86
-0.2%
Rand - Euro
16.71
-0.0%
Rand - Aus dollar
11.52
+0.3%
Rand - Yen
0.12
+0.9%
Gold
1,774.94
-0.3%
Silver
20.14
-0.6%
Palladium
2,159.00
+0.3%
Platinum
938.00
0.0%
Brent Crude
95.10
-3.2%
Top 40
64,726
+1.1%
All Share
71,505
+1.1%
Resource 10
65,387
+3.3%
Industrial 25
87,072
+0.1%
Financial 15
16,239
+0.5%
All JSE data delayed by at least 15 minutes Iress logo
Editorial feedback and complaints

Contact the public editor with feedback for our journalists, complaints, queries or suggestions about articles on News24.

LEARN MORE