About Us

News24 is South Africa's most trusted and largest news brand that has been synonymous with breaking news, award-winning journalism and pioneering multimedia since 1998.

We tell the everyday stories of South Africans in words, visuals and sound. With over 1.5m unique users on our platforms each day, News24's journalism continues to shape the news agenda and public debate.

We get it first and we get it right.

We investigate and expose wrongdoing, hold political and private power to account, and delight our readers with the best in sport, entertainment, lifestyle and the arts. Our opinions, analyses and explainers cover a wide range of topics and reflect a diversity of voices.

Our team of approximately 100 journalists are based in Cape Town, Johannesburg, Pretoria, Durban and Port Elizabeth. Our vertical brands include Fin24, Sport24, Channel24, Health24, Arts24, Parent24, Wheels24, W24 and Business Insider SA.

News24 is owned by Media24, South Africa's leading media company, with interests in digital media and services, newspapers, magazines, e-commerce, book publishing, print and distribution.

Media24 is part of Naspers, a multinational group of media and e-commerce platforms.

Editor-in-chief: Adriaan Basson (adriaan@24.com)

Assistant editor (breaking news): Sheldon Morais (sheldon.morais@24.com)

Assistant editor (in-depth news): Pieter du Toit (pdutoit@24.com)

Fin24 editor: Ron Derby (ron.derby@24.com)

Political editor: Qaanitah Hunter (qaanitah.hunter@24.com)

Business Insider SA editor: Helena Wasserman (helena@24.com)

Sport24 editor: Lloyd Burnard (lloyd.burnard@24.com)

Lifestyle editor: Herman Eloff (herman.eloff@24.com)

Arts24 editor: Lindokuhle Nkosi (lindokuhle.nkosi@24.com)

For suggestions, compliments or complaints about content, contact News24 Public Editor George Claassen (george.claassen@media24.com).

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Lockdown For
DAYS
HRS
MINS
Voting Booth
When assisting your child with remote learning this year, did you:
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
Follow the school's comprehensive sexuality education (CSE) curriculum?
13% - 295 votes
Adjust the CSE curriculum to suit the family's morals?
24% - 531 votes
Ignore the schools CSE programme and do your own teaching?
63% - 1384 votes
Vote
ZAR/USD
15.33
(-0.57)
ZAR/GBP
20.48
(-0.12)
ZAR/EUR
18.48
(-0.46)
ZAR/AUD
11.32
(-0.64)
ZAR/JPY
0.15
(-0.24)
Gold
1826.71
(+0.92)
Silver
24.14
(+1.53)
Platinum
999.00
(+0.60)
Brent Crude
47.23
(-0.96)
Palladium
2417.50
(+0.92)
All Share
57960.29
(+0.78)
Top 40
53205.51
(+0.84)
Financial 15
11375.68
(+1.22)
Industrial 25
79231.78
(+0.21)
Resource 10
54367.10
(+1.50)
All JSE data delayed by at least 15 minutes morningstar logo