About Us

News24 is South Africa's most trusted and largest news brand that has been synonymous with breaking news, award-winning journalism and pioneering multimedia since 1998.

We tell the everyday stories of South Africans in words, visuals and sound. With over 1.5m unique users on our platforms each day, News24's journalism continues to shape the news agenda and public debate.

We get it first and we get it right.

We investigate and expose wrongdoing, hold political and private power to account, and delight our readers with the best in sport, entertainment, lifestyle and the arts. Our opinions, analyses and explainers cover a wide range of topics and reflect a diversity of voices.

Our team of approximately 100 journalists are based in Cape Town, Johannesburg, Pretoria, Durban and Port Elizabeth. Our vertical brands include Fin24, Sport24, Channel24, Health24, Arts24, Parent24, Wheels24, W24 and Business Insider SA.

News24 is owned by Media24, South Africa's leading media company, with interests in digital media and services, newspapers, magazines, e-commerce, book publishing, print and distribution.

Media24 is part of Naspers, a multinational group of media and e-commerce platforms.

Editor-in-chief: Adriaan Basson (adriaan@24.com)

Assistant editor (breaking news): Sheldon Morais (sheldon.morais@24.com)

Assistant editor (in-depth news): Pieter du Toit (pdutoit@24.com)

Fin24 editor: Ron Derby (ron.derby@24.com)

Political editor: Qaanitah Hunter (qaanitah.hunter@24.com)

Business Insider SA editor: Helena Wasserman (helena@24.com)

Sport24 editor: Lloyd Burnard (lloyd.burnard@24.com)

Lifestyle editor: Herman Eloff (herman.eloff@24.com)

Arts24 editor: Lindokuhle Nkosi (lindokuhle.nkosi@24.com)

For suggestions, compliments or complaints about content, contact News24 Public Editor George Claassen (george.claassen@media24.com).

Lockdown For
DAYS
HRS
MINS
Voting Booth
Pyjamas or no pyjamas? Is sleeping in your day clothes:
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
Disgusting!
62% - 961 votes
Something I've seriously considered
11% - 177 votes
Normal in my household
27% - 413 votes
Vote
ZAR/USD
16.25
(-0.76)
ZAR/GBP
21.02
(-0.26)
ZAR/EUR
19.23
(-0.43)
ZAR/AUD
11.85
(-0.30)
ZAR/JPY
0.16
(-0.84)
Gold
1948.10
(+0.09)
Silver
26.87
(-0.53)
Platinum
934.00
(+0.22)
Brent Crude
43.78
(+2.41)
Palladium
2330.99
(+0.40)
All Share
54694.01
(-0.62)
Top 40
50450.91
(-0.49)
Financial 15
9807.91
(-2.47)
Industrial 25
72677.75
(-0.92)
Resource 10
55511.65
(+0.71)
All JSE data delayed by at least 15 minutes morningstar logo