About Us

News24 is South Africa's most trusted and largest news brand that has been synonymous with breaking news, award-winning journalism and pioneering multimedia since 1998.

We tell the everyday stories of South Africans in words, visuals and sound. With over 1.5m unique users on our platforms each day, News24's journalism continues to shape the news agenda and public debate.

We get it first and we get it right.

We investigate and expose wrongdoing, hold political and private power to account, and delight our readers with the best in sport, entertainment, lifestyle and the arts. Our opinions, analyses and explainers cover a wide range of topics and reflect a diversity of voices.

Our team of approximately 100 journalists are based in Cape Town, Johannesburg, Pretoria, Durban and Port Elizabeth. Our vertical brands include Fin24, Sport24, Channel24, Health24, Arts24, Parent24, Wheels24, W24 and Business Insider SA.

News24 is owned by Media24, South Africa's leading media company, with interests in digital media and services, newspapers, magazines, e-commerce, book publishing, print and distribution.

Media24 is part of Naspers, a multinational group of media and e-commerce platforms.

Editor-in-chief: Adriaan Basson (adriaan@24.com)

Assistant editor (breaking news): Sheldon Morais (sheldon.morais@24.com)

Assistant editor (in-depth news): Pieter du Toit (pdutoit@24.com)

Fin24 editor: Ron Derby (ron.derby@24.com)

Political editor: Qaanitah Hunter (qaanitah.hunter@24.com)

Business Insider SA editor: Helena Wasserman (helena@24.com)

Sport24 editor: Garrin Lambley (garrin.lambley@24.com)

Lifestyle editor: Herman Eloff (herman.eloff@24.com)

Reader complaints: Any complaints, queries or suggestions about content on News24 may be sent to News24 Public Editor George Claassen (george.claassen@media24.com).

Lockdown For
DAYS
HRS
MINS
Voting Booth
Falling pregnant isn't always as easy as it seems. Did you fall pregnant:
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
right away, what a blessing!
50% - 368 votes
after a while, it took a few months
18% - 128 votes
only after a year or more of trying
32% - 234 votes
Vote
ZAR/USD
16.76
(+0.34)
ZAR/GBP
21.16
(+0.18)
ZAR/EUR
18.94
(+0.25)
ZAR/AUD
11.64
(+0.54)
ZAR/JPY
0.16
(+0.06)
Gold
1798.70
(-0.23)
Silver
18.70
(+0.16)
Platinum
825.00
(-1.03)
Brent Crude
42.31
(-2.17)
Palladium
1960.00
(+0.77)
All Share
55417.89
(-0.66)
Top 40
51154.08
(-0.74)
Financial 15
10472.31
(+1.28)
Industrial 25
76134.69
(-1.67)
Resource 10
52483.78
(-0.20)
All JSE data delayed by at least 15 minutes morningstar logo