ANC switches up its disciplinary arm, ditches corruption accused members

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
ANC Treasurer General Paul Mashatile. Photo: Christopher Moagi
ANC Treasurer General Paul Mashatile. Photo: Christopher Moagi
  • The ANC held a three-day national executive committee NEC meeting at the weekend. 
  • ANC treasurer-general Paul Mashatile says the party has endorsed members who are not part of its NEC to fill its national disciplinary committees.
  • The ANC NEC has also endorsed members of its renewal commission.

To avoid allegations of conflict of interest when dealing with ANC disciplinary matters, treasurer-general Paul Mashatile says the party has endorsed a group of its members who have no political positions to head its disciplinary committees. 

At its three-day national executive committee (NEC) meeting at the weekend, the ANC endorsed a reconfiguration of its national disciplinary committee (NDC) and its national disciplinary dispute committee of appeals.

The ANC national working committee endorsed the move to make changes to the committees. 

It was believed that showed a move by Ramaphosa to strengthen the party's stance on discipline. 

Ramaphosa had spoken extensively about concerns about the party's problems with ill-discipline when he gave his January 8 address earlier this year. 

Mashatile said the NEC had endorsed that committees should be staffed with people who were not ANC members. 

He said this was to avoid any possible complaints of conflict of interest. The NDC will now be chaired by Ralph Mgijima, a former integrity commissioner for the Gauteng government. 

The committee also includes other ANC heavyweights who have taken a backseat from the party in recent years. 

READ | Zondo report: ANC says it will deal with findings against members, EFF wants prosecutions 

Other members include Vusi Pikoli, the former head of the National Prosecuting Authority, Susan Shabangu, Thandi Orleyn, Enver Surty, Kerensa Millard, Robinson Ramaite, Faith Muthambi, Lindiwe Maseko and Nocawe Mafu.

The appeals committee was previously chaired by ANC NEC member Nomvula Mokonyane and included members such as Zweli Mkhize, who face corruption scandals. 

The committee will now be chaired by Johnny de Lange, a former ANC MP and deputy minister of justice and correctional services. 

Other members will include Lindiwe Hendricks, Krish Govender, Max Boqwana, Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi, Firoz Cachalia, Sylvia Lucas and Phumulo Masualle.

Renewal commission 

The ANC NEC has also endorsed a list of members who will form part of the renewal commission. Thoko Didiza will chair the commission. 

It will include Naledi Pandor, Joel Netshitenzhe, Zingiswa Losi, Wally Serote, Mahlengi Bhengu, Jeremy Cronin, Fasiha Hassan, Bheki Nkosi, Dr Billy Ramokgopa, Abba Omar and one-member each from the ANCVL, ANCWL and ANCYL.

The commission is expected to tour the country, interacting with party members to map out how best the party can approach its internal issues. 

The commission is expected to compile a report discussed at the ANC's policy conference in July.

The ANC NEC also endorsed the recommendation for Gwen Ramokgopa as a co-ordinator in the Office of the Secretary-General.

Ramokgopa will help in the office to assist Mashatile while Jessie Duarte remains on sick leave.

We want to hear your views on the news. Subscribe to News24 to be part of the conversation in the comments section of this article.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
Are you going to keep wearing a mask following the announcement that it is no longer required under law?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
No ways, I'm done
39% - 4620 votes
Yes, I still want to be cautious
26% - 3005 votes
Only certain circumstances
35% - 4129 votes
Rand - Dollar
Rand - Pound
Rand - Euro
Rand - Aus dollar
Rand - Yen
Brent Crude
Top 40
All Share
Resource 10
Industrial 25
Financial 15
All JSE data delayed by at least 15 minutes Iress logo
Editorial feedback and complaints

Contact the public editor with feedback for our journalists, complaints, queries or suggestions about articles on News24.