What to read next? Great books for 6-12 year olds

accreditation

By now, you child has their own likes and preferences, this is no different when it comes to the books they gravitate towards. Here's a list to help them get through the holidays.

6-9 years old

Roald Dahl's James's Giant Bug Book – Roald Dahl

Discover the world of minibeasts that James encounters on his magical adventure away from Aunt Sponge and Spiker.

Darcy Dolphin and the Best Birthday Ever! – Sam Watkins

Darcy Dolphin is back! This time, Darcy joins the sea trouts to lend a helping fin, but things don't go according to the plan. Soon, there's chaos in the sea! Can Darcy sort everything out and throw Ozzie Octopus the best birthday ever?

Tweens

Wrinkle in Time – Madeleine L'Engle

Meg's father mysteriously disappears after experimenting with the fifth dimension of time travel. Meg and her friends will journey through space and time in an attempt to save her father from evil forces. 

A Series of Unfortunate Events – Lemony Snicket

Violet, Klaus and Sunny Baudelaire are left orphaned and will have to live with their relative Count Olaf, who tries to steal their inheritance. The children will come together to protect their estate and to uncover the secrets behind their parents' mysterious death.  

Twelve Nights – Andrew Zurcher 

 

Kay's father is working, as always. But it's Christmas Eve and her mother is fed up! She drives her and her sister, Eloise to Cambridge College where her father works, however, the staff have no recollection of anyone with his name ever working at the college...

Coming this April.

What were your favourite books when you were growing up and what lessons did you learn from reading? Email us at chatback@parent24.com and we may publish your comments.

Read more:

Sign up to our weekly newsletter to receive Parent24 stories directly to your inbox.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
Zama zama crackdown: What are your thoughts on West Village residents taking the law into their own hands?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
Authorities should bring in the army already
11% - 1403 votes
Illegal miners can't be scapegoated for all crime
49% - 6484 votes
What else did we expect without no proper policing
37% - 4811 votes
Vigilante groups are also part of the problem
4% - 464 votes
Vote
Rand - Dollar
16.23
+0.2%
Rand - Pound
19.72
+0.5%
Rand - Euro
16.72
+0.3%
Rand - Aus dollar
11.54
+0.0%
Rand - Yen
0.12
+0.4%
Gold
1,787.27
-0.1%
Silver
20.32
+0.1%
Palladium
2,270.50
-0.9%
Platinum
958.00
-0.3%
Brent Crude
99.60
+2.2%
Top 40
64,551
-0.1%
All Share
71,251
-0.0%
Resource 10
65,301
-0.8%
Industrial 25
86,913
-0.2%
Financial 15
16,124
+1.0%
All JSE data delayed by at least 15 minutes Iress logo
Editorial feedback and complaints

Contact the public editor with feedback for our journalists, complaints, queries or suggestions about articles on News24.

LEARN MORE