Printable: 2017 school holidays in South Africa calendar

accreditation

Update! The dates of the first week in August has been fixed.

Have you booked the holidays for the year ahead? Here are the school and public holiday dates for the year so you can plan the next family breakaway.

If you don't yet have kids at school, you have more leeway and can get away with cheaper holidays outside of peak season. We suggest a few added leave dates around the long weekends to make your leave work for you!

To download the school calendar, click here.

Parent24 SA schools holiday calendar 2017

(Original calendar image: iStock)

SA long weekends 2017:

Human Rights Day in March

  • Monday March 20 is a school holiday – TAKE 1 DAY LEAVE.
  • Tuesday March 21 is Human Rights Day.
    = 4 days

Easter weekend in April

  • Friday 14 April is Good Friday.
  • Monday 17 April is Family Day.
    = 4 days

**If you don’t have kids in school:

  • Take leave on Thursday 13 and Tuesday 18 (2 days) = 6 days.

Freedom Day and Workers Day in April/May

  • Thursday 27 April is Freedom Day.
  • Friday 28 April is a school holiday – TAKE 1 DAY LEAVE.
  • Monday 1 May is Workers Day.
    = 5 days

**If you don’t have kids at school:  

  • Add Wednesday 26 April and Tuesday 2 May to 28 April (3 days) = 7 days. 
  • Bonanza: Take leave from Thursday 13 to Tuesday 2 May (10 days) = 20 days!

Youth Day in June

  • Friday 16 June is Youth Day.
    = 3 days

Women's Day in August

  • Wednesday 9 August is Women’s Day. TAKE LEAVE ON 7th + 8th, or 10th + 11th (2 days).
    = 5 days

Heritage Day in September

  • Monday 25 September is a public holiday (Heritage Day is on the Sunday).
    = 3 days

Also see: 

SA school holidays 2017

April school holiday:

Monday 3 April to Monday 17 April  (11 working days, 17 total days).

July holiday:

Monday 3 July to Friday 21 July (15 working days, 23 total days).

October holiday:

Monday 2 October to Friday 6 October (5 working days, 9 total days).

December holiday:

Thursday 7 December to Tuesday 16 January (24 working days, 41 total days).

Have you made your holiday plans for the year yet? When are you going away and whereto? Send your comments to chatback@parent24.com and we may publish them (anonymously).

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24