Broom sweeps Otago to win

Neil Broom (Getty Images)
Neil Broom (Getty Images)
Jaipur - New Zealand’s Otago Volts restricted the Perth Scorchers to 180 for five to seal a comprehensive 62-run victory in their CLT20 Group A clash against the Perth Scorchers at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on Wednesday.

According to the website, Ian Butler took 3-47, and also had a direct hit and a catch, as the Volts continued their fine run of form.

Earlier, opener Neil Broom (117 not out off 56 balls) had lifted the Otago outfit to 242 for four - the highest score in the history of the competition - with a 51-ball century, which included nine fours and eight sixes.

He received handy support from all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate ( 66 off 26 balls), in a stand of 128 in just eight overs, while wicketkeeper Derek de Boorder chipped in with 45 off 28 balls.

In reply, the Scorchers lost two wickets in the opening over and never got close to the required run-rate.

Zimbabwean-born Hilton Cartwright weighed in with 73 not out, but the Perth side still fell a woeful 62 runs short.


Otago Volts:
HD Rutherford, NT Broom, BB McCullum (captain), RN ten Doeschate, JDS Neesham, NL McCullum, DC de Boorder (wicketkeeper), IG Butler, N Wagner, NB Beard, JM McMillan.

Perth Scorchers: LM Davis, AC Agar, SM Katich (captain), AC Voges, AJ Turner, HWR Cartwright, TIF Triffitt (wicketkeeper), JS Paris, JP Behrendorff, BT Cockley, MA Beer. 
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 7899 votes
11% - 1977 votes
19% - 3609 votes
2% - 464 votes
1% - 172 votes
2% - 444 votes
5% - 922 votes
8% - 1570 votes
3% - 628 votes
Water sports
1% - 168 votes
American sports
1% - 220 votes
3% - 573 votes