Windies bowls first in WT20 final

Darren Sammy (AFP)
Darren Sammy (AFP)

Kolkata - West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss Sunday and decided to bowl first against England in the World Twenty20 final.

LIVE: West Indies v England - ICC World T20 Final

Both teams went in unchanged in a game that will see the winner become the first team to win a second World Twenty20 title.

In the semi-finals, England beat New Zealand by seven wickets at New Delhi and the West Indies got past pre-tournament favourite India by the same margin at Mumbai.

The West Indies and England played each other earlier in a Group 1 game in which opener Chris Gayle had clobbered a 48-ball 100 not out to power the West Indies to a six-wicket win.

England was the champion in 2010 while the West Indies won the tournament in 2012.

India (2007), Pakistan (2009) and Sri Lanka (2014) are the others to have won the tournament.



Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett.

West Indies

Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy (captain), Carlos Brathwaite, Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn.


We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
41% - 11415 votes
12% - 3297 votes
19% - 5147 votes
3% - 693 votes
1% - 268 votes
2% - 640 votes
5% - 1411 votes
8% - 2335 votes
3% - 924 votes
Water sports
1% - 245 votes
American sports
1% - 335 votes
3% - 896 votes