Kallis to face Springboks

Jacques Kallis (Gallo Images)
Jacques Kallis (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Jacques Kallis has been included in the Proteas T20 squad for the challenge match against the Springboks that will be the cricket highlight of the opening day of the Cell C Festival of Cricket at Newlands on Friday.

The sponsors also announced on Wedneday that they will be donating R10 to the Jacques Kallis Scholarship Foundation for every run that Kallis scored during his Test career. This amounts to R132 890. The cheque will be presented to Kallis during the innings break on Friday.

“Jacques has been a true giant of the game,” commented Jose dos Santos, Cell C Acting Chief Executive.

“The nation owes him so much, not just for his performances as a world-class cricketer over an extended period of time but for the role model he has been to our youth that stretches far beyond the game of cricket.

“The Foundation is something that is very close to his heart and he may have retired from cricket but we all know that he will continue to work tirelessly to create the opportunity for young South Africans to gain the priceless gift of a good education and the chance to live their cricketing dreams.

“Cell C is delighted to be associated with this project and we hope our contribution will inspire others to help less privileged members of South African society.”

Haroon Lorgat, CSA chief executive, said: “The festival will provide the perfect opportunity for Kallis’s home town fans to pay tribute to their legend and favourite cricketing son.”

Proteas T20 squad: Faf du Plessis (Titans, captain), Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras), Henry Davids (Titans), Quinton de Kock (Highveld Lions), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), Imran Tahir (Highveld Lions), Jacques Kallis (Cape Cobras), Ryan McLaren (Knights), David Miller (Dolphins), *Morné Morkel (Titans), Wayne Parnell (Warriors), Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions), *Dale Steyn (Cape Cobras), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Highveld Lions), David Wiese (Titans)

Players marked with an asterisk will not be playing on medical grounds but will be present.

Springbok XI: Jean de Villiers (captain), Willem Alberts, Bismarck du Plessis, Butch James, Fabian Juries, Tiaan Liebenberg, Willie le Roux, Victor Matfield, Frans Steyn, Flip van der Merwe, Franco van der Merwe.

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 3615 votes
11% - 857 votes
18% - 1387 votes
2% - 147 votes
1% - 64 votes
2% - 164 votes
5% - 397 votes
8% - 597 votes
3% - 238 votes
Water sports
1% - 64 votes
American sports
1% - 60 votes
3% - 203 votes