Proteas pooled alongside India, Pakistan for 2022 T20 World Cup

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Temba Bavuma (left) and Aiden Markram in action (Getty)
Temba Bavuma (left) and Aiden Markram in action (Getty)

The Proteas have been drawn alongside India, Pakistan and Bangladesh in Group 2 for the 2022 T20 World Cup to be hosted in Australia.

The fixture list for the event was released on Friday, with the draw for the First Round and Super 12 groups also confirmed.

Group 1 will comprise hosts and defending champions Australia, England, New Zealand and Afghanistan.


The Super 12 will start in Sydney with a meeting between the two finalists from the 2021 T20 World Cup, Australia and New Zealand, squaring off on 22 October.

India and Pakistan are scheduled to meet at the MCG in Melbourne on 23 October in what will be one of the most hotly-anticipated matches of the tournament.

South Africa's opening match is against a yet-to-be determined qualifier (Group B winner) in Hobart on 24 October. The Proteas' second match is against Bangladesh in Sydney on 27 October; India in Perth on 30 October; Pakistan in Sydney on 3 November; before facing another qualifier (Group A runner up) in Adelaide on 6 November.

The First Round

The tournament will begin with a six-day group stage to determine the final four teams to qualify for the Super 12.

Sri Lanka and Namibia will be joined by two further qualifiers in Group A, with the West Indies and Scotland drawn together alongside two additional teams from the Global Qualifier in Group B.

The qualifying stage will consist of daily double-headers, held on alternate days at Hobart's Bellerive Oval and Geelong's Kardinia Park, with all Group A matches at the latter venue and all Group B matches held in the Tasmanian city.

All fixtures will be held between 16-21 October.

The winner of Group A and runner-up of Group B will join Group 1 in the Super 12 stage, with Group B's winners and the second-placed team in Group A heading into Group 2.

Knockout Stages

The Sydney Cricket Ground will host the first semi-final on November 9 while the second last-four clash will be held at the Adelaide Oval.

The final will be played at the MCG on November 13 under lights.

Australia had been due to host the T20 World Cup in 2020 but it was delayed two years because of the coronavirus pandemic with India retaining the 2021 edition - though that edition had to be shifted to Dubai because of Covid.


We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
Would you be keen to see the Springboks join the Six Nations?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Yes! The Northern Hemisphere is the future.
52% - 2381 votes
No! The Rugby Championship is still the pinnacle.
48% - 2192 votes