Proteas released for first-class duty

Hashim Amla (Gallo Images)
Hashim Amla (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) has released several Proteas players for first class duty next week.

JP Duminy, Hashim Amla, Stiaan van Zyl (all Cape Cobras), Temba Bavuma (Highveld Lions), Dean Elgar (Titans) and Dane Piedt (Cape Cobras) will all play for their respective franchises in the Sunfoil Series from December 17-20.

This will be valuable preparation ahead of the first Test against England which starts in Durban on December 26.

Batsman Rilee Rossouw has also been allowed play for South Africa ‘A’ in a three-day match warm-up match against England in Pietermaritzburg from December 20-22.

Proteas team manager, Mohammed Moosajee, explained the decisions to release certain players: “A lot of the senior players were in India for the full duration of the 72-day tour and most of them played in every match, it is vital for them to get some physical and mental rest ahead of the lengthy series against England.

“All of the fast bowlers in the Test squad announced today will not take part in any Sunfoil Series matches prior to the series. The fast bowlers feature across all three formats so it is important for us to manage their workloads coming out of a long tour and heading straight into another one. Dale Steyn will have a fitness Test on December 17 to ascertain his availability for the Boxing Day Test match but we are quite confident that he will be fit for that Test match.”

Meanwhile, Imran Tahir and Dean Elgar will be available for selection for their respective franchises in the RAM SLAM T20 Challenge final between the Titans and the Sunfoil Dolphins taking place at SuperSport Park in Centurion on Saturday.

The Test squad will assemble in Durban on Tuesday, December 22.

Proteas Test squad: Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras, captain), AB de Villiers (Titans, vice-captain), Kyle Abbott (Dolphins), Temba Bavuma (Highveld Lions), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), Faf du Plessis (Titans), Dean Elgar (Titans), Morne Morkel (Titans), Dane Piedt (Cape Cobras), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Rilee Rossouw (Knights), Dale Steyn (Cape Cobras), Stiaan van Zyl (Cape Cobras).

South Africa 'A' squad: Stephen Cook (Highveld Lions), Reeza Hendricks (Knights), Rilee Rossouw (Knights), Quinton de Kock (Titans), Omphile Ramela (Cape Cobras), Khaya Zondo (Dolphins), Dane Vilas (Cape Cobras, captain, wicketkeeper), Wayne Parnell (Cape Cobras), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Chris Morris (Titans), Marchant de Lange (Titans)


Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5767 votes
11% - 1438 votes
19% - 2432 votes
2% - 299 votes
1% - 116 votes
2% - 297 votes
5% - 640 votes
8% - 1047 votes
3% - 409 votes
Water sports
1% - 116 votes
American sports
1% - 126 votes
3% - 374 votes