SA elect to bat in Galle

Dean Elgar (Gallo Images)
Dean Elgar (Gallo Images)

Galle - South Africa captain Hashim Amla won the toss and chose to bat in the first Test against Sri Lanka that began at the Galle International Stadium on Wednesday.

LIVE: Sri Lanka v SA - Day 1

Amla is leading the Test team for the first time, having been named captain in June following Graeme Smith's retirement from the game.

Amla is the first non-white player to lead the Proteas in a full-time capacity.

The home team have a new opening pair this time with Upul Tharanga playing his first Test since 2007.

The second and final Test will be played in Colombo from July 24-28.


Sri Lanka
Angelo Mathews (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne, Upul Tharanga, Kaushal Silva, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Shaminda Eranga

South Africa
Hashim Amla (captain), Alviro Petersen, Dean Elgar, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Vernon Philander, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir, Quinton de Kock

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZL), Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

TV Umpire: Nigel Llong (ENG)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 9810 votes
11% - 2620 votes
19% - 4441 votes
2% - 573 votes
1% - 214 votes
2% - 545 votes
5% - 1162 votes
8% - 1958 votes
3% - 788 votes
Water sports
1% - 209 votes
American sports
1% - 292 votes
3% - 748 votes