Rain dampens Proteas' win

David Miller (Gallo Images)
David Miller (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - The Proteas have beaten Pakistan by four runs via the Duckworth/Lewis method in the first T20 international against Pakistan at the Wanderers on Wednesday night.

The Proteas posted 153 for seven in their innings.

In reply, Pakistan were on their way to have a dip at the end before rain cut short their chase.

Pakistan had moved the score to 60 for two after 9.2 overs, but were four runs behind on the D/L method.

Lonwabo Tsotsobe opened the bowling for the Proteas, and though expensive, picked up the wicket Ahmed Shehzad through a fine piece of bowling in the third over.

Tsotsobe pitched the ball on a good length and Shehzad was beaten for pace as he played on to leave the visitors on 18 for 1.

A second wicket partnership of 32 followed before JP Duminy outfoxed Nasir Jamshed in the eighth over.

Jamshed misjudged the Duminy's third delivery and was caught and bowled as the Pakistan chase began to wobble.

Rain, however, would have the final say as the second downpour of the evening curtailed proceedings and South were later awarded the win.

Earlier, Quinton de Kock and Hashim Amla combined to get South Africa off to the perfect start.

The openers put on 72 at a shade under nine runs per over.

De Kock was particularly brutal on the Pakistan bowling attack, smashing boundaries both sides of the wicket.

Amla, meanwhile, displayed great timing to race to 31 off 20 balls before he was done in the flight and bowled by Mohammad Hafeez.

De Kock soon followed - for 43 off 33 balls - attempting to clear the long on boundary, but was caught by Hafeez off the bowling of Sohail Tanvir with the score on 81 for two after 9.4 overs.

The Proteas failed to capitalise on the solid opening stand as wickets continued to fall in the middle period and were forced to settle for 153 for seven in their 20 overs.

South Africa won both the T20 and one-day series in the United Arab Emirates.

They will play the final T20 at Newlands on Friday before taking part in three one-day games over the next two weeks.


South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wkt), Henry Davids, JP Duminy, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Imran Tahir.

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad, Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Amin, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal (wkt), Shahid Afridi, Bilawal Bhatti, Anwar Ali, Sohail Tanvir, Saeed Ajmal.

Umpires: Johan Cloete, Shaun George (both RSA)

TV umpire: Karl Hurter (RSA)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
41% - 13536 votes
12% - 4142 votes
19% - 6247 votes
3% - 858 votes
1% - 328 votes
2% - 777 votes
5% - 1685 votes
8% - 2826 votes
4% - 1178 votes
Water sports
1% - 305 votes
American sports
1% - 419 votes
3% - 1117 votes