Behardien named Titans Player of the Year

Farhaan Behardien (Gallo Images)
Farhaan Behardien (Gallo Images)

Pretoria - After a successful 2017/18 campaign, Farhaan Behardien was the big winner at the Titans’ annual awards ceremony on Tuesday night.

The season saw the Titans win the RAM SLAM T20 Challenge, before claiming a dramatic Sunfoil Series title on the final day of the season.

Behardien, an ever-present in all formats, helped himself to four awards on the evening, including the coveted Player of the Year gong. He also secured the T20 Player of the Year, the First-Class Player of the Year and the Most Valuable Player of the Year awards, in a season that also saw him mark his 100th first-class appearance with a century.

“It has been another very productive season for our franchise team, and I congratulate coach Mark Boucher and the rest of his fantastic team for continuing to set the standards in South African domestic cricket,” Titans CEO Jacques Faul said.

“A special mention also goes to Farhaan, who has been a fantastic servant for Northerns and Titans cricket for years. He deserves all the accolades that he received this evening,” Faul said of the ceremony’s big winner.

The evening, hosted at the stunning Serengeti Golf and Wildlife Estate, saw the Titans family come together for a night of celebration, with all the franchise’s commercial and technical partners in attendance.

On the players’ front, the bulk of the Titans squad that secured the domestic double was in attendance, as well as national stars such as AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar and Lungi Ngidi, who took time away from the thrilling, ongoing Test series against Australia.

Wrist-spinner Tabraiz Shamsi was also a multiple winner, as his productive campaign reaped the One-Day Cup Player of the Year, as well as the prestigious Players’ Player of the Year, as voted for by his team-mates.

Promising batsman Andrea Agathangelou’s encouraging displays at the top of the order were rewarded with the Newcomer of Year award, holding off stiff competition from Tony de Zorzi and Rivaldo Moonsamy.

One of the brightest stars in the Titans stable, Aiden Markram, has enjoyed a meteoric rise to international stardom, but he remains a popular drawcard when he turns out in Titans blue. The top-order ace walked away with the Bacher and Co Fan’s Player of the Year.

Full list of winners:

Newcomer of the Year: Andrea Agathangelou
T20 Player of the Year: Farhaan Behardien
Momentum One-Day Cup Player of the Year: Tabraiz Shamsi
First-Class Player of the Year: Farhaan Behardien
Most Valuable Player of the Year: Farhaan Behardien
Player's Player of the Year: Tabraiz Shamsi
Bacher and Co Fan's Player of the Year: Aiden Markram
Player of the Year: Farhaan Behardien

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 3948 votes
11% - 964 votes
18% - 1540 votes
2% - 173 votes
1% - 73 votes
2% - 178 votes
5% - 434 votes
8% - 672 votes
3% - 280 votes
Water sports
1% - 65 votes
American sports
1% - 66 votes
3% - 224 votes