Black Caps opt to bowl against India in 1st T20

Kane Williamson (Gallo Images)
Kane Williamson (Gallo Images)

New Delhi - New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and chose to bowl first in the opening Twenty20 international against India in New Delhi on Wednesday.

Top-ranked New Zealand, who have never lost a T20 game against India in five completed outings, have picked two seamers and two spinners for the first of the three matches.

"It was a really good ODI series. Playing India in this part of the world is a stiff challenge. The boys are looking forward to it," Williamson, whose side lost the preceding one-day series 2-1, said at the toss.

India are set to bid farewell to veteran paceman Ashish Nehra, who finds a place in the starting lineup at his home ground Feroz Shah Kotla.

Batsman Shreyas Iyer has been handed his international debut in a team that fields three fast bowlers and two spinners.

Skipper Virat Kohli hailed 38-year-old Nehra's invaluable service to Indian cricket. The left-arm quick was part of India's 2011 World Cup-winning team.

"Nineteen years as a fast bowler is a great achievement. One of the smartest guys I've played with," said Kohli.

India: Virat Kohli(captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Tom Bruce, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi

Umpires: Nitin Menon (IND) and Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)

TV Umpire: Anil Chaudhary (IND)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 3224 votes
11% - 761 votes
18% - 1262 votes
2% - 140 votes
1% - 56 votes
2% - 143 votes
5% - 359 votes
7% - 504 votes
3% - 216 votes
Water sports
1% - 63 votes
American sports
1% - 56 votes
3% - 182 votes