Bravo recalled to Windies squad after 2-year absence

Darren Bravo (Getty Images)
Darren Bravo (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Batsman Darren Bravo is set to play his first international game in two years after he was recalled to the West Indies T20I squad for the upcoming series in India.

Bravo had previously fallen out with the Windies cricket board but it seems things have now been patched up.

Kieron Pollard was only included for the T20I leg of the tour, which also features five ODI games, while Chris Gayle made himself unavailable as he is currently playing in the Afghanistan Premier League and then the Abu Dhabi T10 after that.

Gayle has however indicated that he remains available for the home series against England early next year and the World Cup which starts in May 2019.

Batsman Evin Lewis, who had turned down a West Indies central contract, was selected in both squads.

The ODI squad for the India tour features three uncapped players in opener Chandrapaul Hemraj, all-rounder Fabian Allen and pacer Oshane Thomas.

Allen and Thomas will stay on with the T20I squad and will be joined by other uncapped members in pacer Obed McCoy, left-arm spinner Khary Pierre and batsman Sherfane Rutherford.

West Indies' chairperson of selectors Courtney Browne said: "With the 2020 ICC World T20 two years away and the limited amount of T20 Internationals within the next year, the panel believes at this juncture it is time to invest in the young players that have emerged over the last two years from Windies A and B teams, along with 2018 CPL.

"The panel believes that this new group of cricketers, in addition to their cricketing skills, will have the athleticism needed to improve our fielding, which will be vital to our success.

"The selection of a young group two years prior to the World T20 gives the coaching staff time to help them with their skills and for the team to develop into a cohesive and competitive unit."

The Windies will play five ODIs and three T20Is in India with the 50-over series set to get underway on October 21 in Guwahati.

West Indies ODI squad:

Jason Holder (capt), Fabian Allen, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Oshane Thomas

T20I squad:

Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Oshane Thomas

loading... Live
England 159/5 (52 ov)
Pakistan 326
loading... Live
England 159/5 (52 ov)
Pakistan 326
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5706 votes
11% - 1412 votes
19% - 2388 votes
2% - 290 votes
1% - 113 votes
2% - 289 votes
5% - 630 votes
8% - 1014 votes
3% - 402 votes
Water sports
1% - 111 votes
American sports
1% - 124 votes
3% - 365 votes