CSA praises Proteas trio for making ICC's World Cup XI

Haroon Lorgat (File)
Haroon Lorgat (File)

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) has congratulated three members of the Proteas women's national squad - Dane van Niekerk, Laura Wolvaardt and Marizanne Kapp - on their selection for the ICC Women's World Cup 2017 Team of the Tournament.

The Team of the ICC Women's World Cup 2017 was selected by a five-person selection panel that comprised Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager - Cricket, and Chairperson Event Technical Committee), former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, former England captain Charlotte Edwards, former India player turned journalist Snehal Pradhan and former Australia all-rounder Lisa Sthalekar.

"This is another wonderful achievement by our women players," commented CSA chief executive, Haroon Lorgat.

"It shows the high growth curve we are presently enjoying and this is the first time we have this many players in the select XI.

"It goes without saying that their selection was extremely well deserved," he said.

"Dane (15) and Marizanne (13) were the two leading wicket-takers in the competition, despite playing two matches fewer than most of their challengers, while Laura scored more than 300 runs and also boasts the fifth best average - an impressive 64.80 - at the tender age of 18.

"Only England, the eventual champions, provided more players for the select XI.

"We congratulate them all on being selected for a world team which is a wonderful achievement. I am certain this will be further inspiration for the team going forward," concluded Lorgat.

Team of the ICC Women's World Cup 2017 (in batting order):

1. Tamsin Beaumont (England) - 410 runs

2. Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa) - 324 runs

3. Mithali Raj (captain, India) - 409 runs

4. Ellyse Perry (Australia) - 404 runs and nine wickets

5. Sarah Taylor (wicketkeeper, England) - 396 runs, four catches and two stumpings

6. Harmanpreet Kaur (India) - 359 runs and five wickets

7. Deepti Sharma (India) - 216 runs and 12 wickets

8. Marizanne Kapp (South Africa) - 13 wickets

9. Dane van Niekerk (South Africa) - 99 runs and 15 wickets

10. Anya Shrubsole (England) - 12 wickets

11. Alex Hartley (England) - 10 wickets

12. Natalie Sciver (England) - 369 runs and seven wickets
We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
41% - 11460 votes
12% - 3311 votes
19% - 5178 votes
3% - 697 votes
1% - 271 votes
2% - 644 votes
5% - 1417 votes
8% - 2342 votes
3% - 928 votes
Water sports
1% - 248 votes
American sports
1% - 336 votes
3% - 907 votes