Erasmus remains SA's lone elite umpire

Marais Erasmus (Getty Images)
Marais Erasmus (Getty Images)

Cape Town - The International Cricket Council (ICC) has named an unchanged Elite Panel of umpires for the 2017/18 season, following their annual review and selection process.

The South African veteran umpire Marais Erasmus is one of the 12 names announced by the ICC to stand in international fixtures.

Erasmus, 53, has stood in 71 One-Day Internationals (ODI), 43 Tests and 26 Twenty20 Internationals (T20I) to date.

The decision was made by the ICC Umpires Selection Panel consisting of chairperson and ICC general manager of cricket, Geoff Allardice, ICC chief match referee Ranjan Madugalle, ex-England player, coach, umpire and now a commentator - David Lloyd, and Srinivas Venkataraghavan, the former India captain and international umpire.

The Elite Panel of ICC Umpires for the 2017/18 season will be:

Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Ian Gould, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Bruce Oxenford, Sundaram Ravi, Paul Reiffel and Rod Tucker.

Meanwhile, the ICC has also retained the same group of Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees for the 2017/18 season.

The seven match referees, who will be refereeing during the upcoming season, are:

David Boon, Chris Broad, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, Andy Pycroft, Javagal Srinath and Richie Richardson.

loading... Live
England 165/7 (58.3 ov)
Pakistan 326
loading... Live
England 165/7 (58.3 ov)
Pakistan 326
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5709 votes
11% - 1412 votes
19% - 2388 votes
2% - 291 votes
1% - 113 votes
2% - 289 votes
5% - 630 votes
8% - 1014 votes
3% - 402 votes
Water sports
1% - 111 votes
American sports
1% - 124 votes
3% - 365 votes