New Zealand to bat first in final T20 v Windies

Kane Williamson (Getty Images)
Kane Williamson (Getty Images)

Mount Maunganui - The West Indies get their last chance at a win on their New Zealand tour when they bowl first in the final Twenty20 in Mount Maunganui on Wednesday.

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bat as rain clouds hovered on the horizon.

"I'm fairly confident we will get a full game in and it looks a good surface," Williamson said.

New Zealand have made one change with Trent Boult replacing Seth Rance.

The West Indies, who also would have bowled first, have made two changes with Jerome Taylor and Rayad Emrit in for Kesrick Williams and Sheldon Cottrell.

It has been a disappointing tour so far for the West Indies with New Zealand winning the Test and one-day series and are one-up in the Twenty20s.

Game two was washed out on Monday after New Zealand had cracked 102 for four off nine overs, and more rain is forecast for late Wednesday night.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (captain), Glenn Phillips, Tom Bruce, Anaru Kitchen, Mitchell Santner, Doug Bracewell, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult.

West Indies: Chris Gayle, Chadwick Walton, Andre Fletcher, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Rovman Powell, Ashley Nurse, Rayad Emrit, Jerome Taylor, Samuel Badree

Umpires: Wayne Knights (NZL), Shaun Haig (NZL)

TV Umpire: Chris Brown (NZL)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 7819 votes
11% - 1968 votes
19% - 3575 votes
3% - 464 votes
1% - 171 votes
2% - 441 votes
5% - 915 votes
8% - 1545 votes
3% - 614 votes
Water sports
1% - 168 votes
American sports
1% - 217 votes
3% - 571 votes