ODI's dominate India's cramped home season

BCCI (File)
BCCI (File)

New Delhi - Limited-overs cricket will return to dominate India's home season as the country hosts Australia, New Zealand and Sri Lanka between late September and December.

India are ranked No 1 in Tests by the International Cricket Council and last year played 13 of the long-format matches during a bumper home season against New Zealand, England, Bangladesh and Australia. 

Virat Kohli's men, who won all four Test series, also played eight ODIs and three Twenty20 internationals in the last home season. 

The Indian cricket board (BCCI) has, however, not finalised the dates of the matches due to logistical reasons. 

"The dates of the matches have deliberately not been frozen," BCCI acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary told reporters. 

"The logistics must factor in local factors such as festivals because as you know Durga Puja being what it is in the whole of eastern India and not only in West Bengal and other public holidays and logistics of distance." 

The team will play 11 one-day internationals, nine Twenty20 matches and three Tests.

Steve Smith-led Australia, who are embroiled in a bitter dispute between their players' union and their national board over a new pay deal, will be first to arrive in India. 

Australia, who lost a four-test series 2-1 away to India in February-March, will play five ODIs and three T20 matches. New Zealand will then play three ODIs and three T20 internationals. 

Sri Lanka, who are currently hosting India, will then play a full series comprising three Tests, three ODIs and an identical number of T20 matches. 

Kolkata, Nagpur and Delhi have been marked down to host the three Tests against the South Asian neighbours. 

India are scheduled to travel to South Africa for a full tour after the completion of the matches against Sri Lanka.

India's 2017-18 home season

Australia: 5 ODIs in Chennai, Bangalore, Nagpur, Indore and Kolkata; 3 T20Is in Hyderabad, Ranchi and Guwahati

New Zealand: 3 ODIs in Pune, Mumbai and Kanpur; 3 T20Is in Delhi, Cuttack and Rajkot

Sri Lanka: 3 tests in Kolkata, Nagpur and Delhi; 3 ODIs in Dharamsala, Mohali and Vizag; 3 T20Is in Thiruvananthapuram, Indore and Mumbai

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
41% - 11437 votes
12% - 3302 votes
19% - 5158 votes
3% - 693 votes
1% - 269 votes
2% - 642 votes
5% - 1413 votes
8% - 2338 votes
3% - 926 votes
Water sports
1% - 247 votes
American sports
1% - 336 votes
3% - 902 votes