Pakistan bat first in decider against NZ

Sarfraz Ahmed (Getty)
Sarfraz Ahmed (Getty)

Mount Maunganui - Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first in the series-deciding third and final Twenty20 against New Zealand in Mount Maunganui on Sunday.

A Pakistan win would also see them overtake New Zealand as the top-ranked T20 side in the world.

"It looks like a good batting wicket," said captain Sarfraz Ahmed.

"If we can win we will be number one in the world."

It was a good toss to win, with New Zealand captain Kane Williamson saying he would also have batted first.

New Zealand had outplayed Pakistan through the five-match one-day series and the first T20 before the tourists pulled off a 48-run win in the second T20 on Thursday.

Pakistan have been forced to make one change, with Aamer Yamin in for Hasan Ali, who injured an ankle playing football during their warm-up.

New Zealand have brought in Ross Taylor for the injured Colin Munro, and Tom Blundell for the dropped Glenn Phillips.

Tim Southee, who was rested for the second game, returns to the side with Seth Rance sidelined, and Anaru Kitchen replaces Ben Wheeler.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson (capt), Anaru Kitchen, Tom Bruce, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Blundell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult.

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Umar Amin, Haris Sohail, Aamer Yamin, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Amir, Rumman Raees.

Umpires: Wayne Knights (NZL), Shaun Haig (NZL)

TV Umpire: Chris Brown (NZL)

Match referee: Richie Richardson (WIS)

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 4175 votes
11% - 1036 votes
18% - 1655 votes
2% - 185 votes
1% - 79 votes
2% - 189 votes
5% - 465 votes
8% - 706 votes
3% - 292 votes
Water sports
1% - 68 votes
American sports
1% - 70 votes
3% - 241 votes