Sipamla, Erwee and Hamza put SA 'A' in control against India 'A'

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Sarel Erwee, Pieter Malan (Gallo Images)
Sarel Erwee, Pieter Malan (Gallo Images)

A fifth five-wicket haul in red ball cricket from Lutho Sipamla and a magnificent, unbeaten 153-run partnership between Sarel Erwee and Zubayr Hamza put South Africa A in control of proceedings on day three of their third four-day match against India A at the Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein on Wednesday.

SCORECARD | SA 'A' v India 'A'

Impressive fast bowler, Sipamla (5 – 99) completed his milestone with two wickets in the morning session to help bowl out the visiting side for 276, with a slim 8-run lead after India A resumed play on 229 / 6, still trailing South Africa by 39 runs.

Marco Jansen (3 – 48) claimed the other two wickets for the home side on the day, continuing the imposing form that saw him receive a Test call-up for the Proteas for the tour against India. 

Facing a minimal deficit, SA A quickly took the lead in the contest through a solid opening stand between Pieter Malan (27) and Erwee before the former was dismissed by the series’ top-wicket taker, Navdeep Saini (1 – 49).

Incredibly, that wicket was the last to fall for the remainder of the day as Test-capped Hamza joined in-form Erwee at the crease to devastating effect for their opponents.

Erwee went about his work in a patient manner, bringing up his second 50 plus score in the match, reaching 85* off 181 balls, including nine fours and one six, while his partner at the other end, Hamza, was the aggressor for the hosts, reaching his 27th First Class fifty and scoring 78* off 117 deliveries (11 fours)

The pair safely guided the South African side to a commendable 196 / 1, with coach Malibongwe Maketa’s team taking a second innings lead of 188 runs into the final day of the match and the series.

Latest Score – Day 3

South Africa A leads India A by 188 runs

South Africa A: 268 & 196 / 1 after 58 overs; S. Erwee 85* (181), Z. Hamza 78* (117); N. Saini 1 – 49, D. Chahar 0 – 12

India A: 276 / 10 after 90.1 overs; I. Kishan 91 (153), H. Vihari 63 (170); L. Sipamla 5 – 99, M. Jansen 3 – 48

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 6517 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
6% - 1032 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
21% - 3545 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
33% - 5560 votes