South Africa 'A' claim first victory in Townsville

Dane Paterson (Gallo Images)
Dane Paterson (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Australia 'A' have been undone by a rampant South Africa 'A', with the tourists claiming their first victory of the Quadrangular ‘A’ Series in Townsville by eight wickets.
After winning the toss and electing to bat, Australia A were rocked, losing quick wickets at the hands of fast bowler Dane Paterson, who removed Chris Lynn (5), Alex Ross (6) and Glenn Maxwell (10) to finish with 3-13 from his eight overs.
The Cape Town quick was adjudged ‘Player of the Match’ for his damaging spell, with Tabraiz Shamsi (3-25) also a key contributor in his first match for South Africa A this tour.
South Australian quick Kane Richardson did his part to salvage his side’s batting efforts, top-scoring with an unbeaten 34 in tandem with Cameron Boyce (14) to help the hosts to a deceptively defendable 10-107.
But it was a brutal return to the winner’s circle for the South Africa A squad, capitalising on some early short bowling by the Australian openers to race to the required total, earning a bonus point.
Theunis de Bruyn (57 not out) continued his good form, able to play positively and reach the boundary six times, with David Miller (20 not out) continuing on from his scintillating 90 against India 'A' on Wednesday.
Australia 'A' take on the undefeated National Performance Squad on Wednesday as the series moves south to Mackay, with South Africa 'A' out to avenge their most-recent loss to India 'A' on Thursday.
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5883 votes
11% - 1458 votes
19% - 2501 votes
2% - 305 votes
1% - 123 votes
2% - 304 votes
5% - 654 votes
8% - 1085 votes
3% - 416 votes
Water sports
1% - 120 votes
American sports
1% - 129 votes
3% - 381 votes