Sri Lanka win toss, opt to bat in third West Indies ODI

Kusal Mendis (Getty Images)
Kusal Mendis (Getty Images)

Pallekele - Sri Lanka skipper Dimuth Karunaratne won the toss and elected to bat in the third one-day international against the West Indies on Sunday in their bid to sweep the series.

The hosts, who took a 2-0 lead in the three-match series on Wednesday, have retained their winning XI in Pallekele.

"It's a good wicket, we are playing two spinners and we want to give them a chance in the second innings," Karunaratne said at the toss.

"Our batters and bowlers, both are performing well and it's been a good series for us so far."

West Indies have made one change as they eye a consolation win. Leg-spinner Hayden Walsh comes in place of paceman Keemo Paul.

Captain Kieron Pollard said results aside every game was a new opportunity.

"We would have batted too. Now we are bowling first so we want to restrict them to a chaseable total," Pollard said.

"At the end of the day, people tend to go on results only. At the end of the day, you're a professional cricketer, and you want to put on a good show."


Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne(captain), Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Thisara Perera, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep

West Indies: Kieron Pollard (captain), Shai Hope, Sunil Ambris, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Nicholas Pooran, Jason Holder, Fabian Allen, Alzarri Joseph, Sheldon Cottrell, Hayden Walsh

Umpires: Raveendra Wimalasiri (SRI), Paul Wilson (AUS)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5885 votes
11% - 1458 votes
19% - 2502 votes
2% - 305 votes
1% - 123 votes
2% - 304 votes
5% - 654 votes
8% - 1086 votes
3% - 417 votes
Water sports
1% - 120 votes
American sports
1% - 129 votes
3% - 381 votes