European Tour

5-way tie at the top of Made in Denmark

Edoardo Molinari (Getty Images)
Edoardo Molinari (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Edoardo Molinari is among a group of five players tied for the lead at five-under-par as blustery conditions made for a tricky day of scoring in round one of Made in Denmark.

The three-time European Tour winner had got to seven-under par at Himmerland Golf & Spa Resort, but as the winds increased, he gave up two late bogeys to sign for a 66 and share a one-shot lead with Spaniard Alejandro Cañizares and English trio Tom Murray, Matthew Southgate and Paul Waring.

"It was quite windy. I hit the ball very solid made a few putts on the front nine, missed a couple coming in when it was very windy, but overall a good day," said Molinari.

Defending champion Matt Wallace - fresh off finishing third at the PGA Championship last week - is at four-under par alongside American John Catlin, Benjamin Hebert of France, Scot Robert Macintyre, and Swedish pair Pelle Edberg and Joakim Lagergren.

"It's going in the right direction. I'm working hard for it, it's not like it has just come randomly. There are more bits that I want to work on, bits I want to improve," said Wallace.

"There's a long way to go for the rest of the year and I haven't won yet this season. It's important to me to try to get that and we'll try to do that this week."

Italian Nino Bertasio, Victor Dubuisson of France, Spaniard Pablo Larrazabal and Austria's Bernd Wiesberger are amongst a group of 18 players two shots back on three under par, with a total of 46 players within three shots of the lead.

Dane Martin Simonsen got the first big cheer of the week from the famous Himmerland Hill as he made the 13th hole-in-one of the season at the par three 16th hole, where thousands of fans greet every birdie with squeaky birds, bought in aid of Danish charity KidsAid.

In another interesting twist at the tournament that is famed for fan-friendly innovations, this week the players reach the 14th tee via a walkway that snakes through a hospitality tent packed with spectators.

Round one scores

66 A Cañizares (Esp), E Molinari (Ita), P Waring (Eng), T Murray (Eng), M Southgate (Eng),

67 P Edberg (Swe), J Lagergren (Swe), B Hebert (Fra), J Catlin (USA), R Macintyre (Sco), M Wallace (Eng),

68 E Kofstad (Nor), C Paisley (Eng), O Fisher (Eng), M Hoey (Nir), A Björk (Swe), K Johannessen (Nor), S Horsfield (Eng), P Dunne (Irl), A Johnston (Eng), O Wilson (Eng), M Schwab (Aut), B Wiesberger (Aut), V Dubuisson (Fra), P Larrazábal (Esp), D Drysdale (Sco), L De Jager (RSA), M Schmitt (Ger), N Bertasio (Ita),

69 G Coetzee (RSA), D Horsey (Eng), M Warren (Sco), L Herbert (Aus), E Van Rooyen (RSA), R Langasque (Fra), N Højgaard (Den), K Reitan (Nor), M Gladbjerg (Den), J Morrison (Eng), A Connelly (Can), J Scrivener (Aus), S Manley (Wal), J Walters (RSA), H Porteous (RSA), J Wang (Kor), N Lemke (Swe),

70 S Jamieson (Sco), N Colsaerts (Bel), K Koivu (Fin), G Migliozzi (Ita), S Chawrasia (Ind), S Soderberg (Swe), Y Miyazato (Jpn), A Saddier (Fra), L Westwood (Eng), T Pieters (Bel), T Pulkkanen (Fin), R Rock (Eng), G Bhullar (Ind), C Blomstrand (Swe), M Pavon (Fra), D Burmester (RSA), G Forrest (Sco), M Orrin (Eng), D Fichardt (RSA), A Hansen (Den), L Slattery (Eng), A Quiros (Esp),

71 J Girrbach (Sui), M Nixon (Eng), J Van Zyl (RSA), J Choi (Kor), R Karlberg (Swe), J Donaldson (Wal), T Olesen (Den), N Kristensen (Den), C Sordet (Fra), W Ormsby (Aus), A Karlsson (Swe), T Jaidee (Tha), A Levy (Fra), L Bjerregaard (Den), M Simonsen (Den), G Fdez-Castaño (Esp), A Otaegui (Esp),

72 S Gallacher (Sco), Z Lombard (RSA), J Hansen (Den), D Papadatos (Aus), M Kinhult (Swe), J Kruyswijk (RSA), E Bertheussen (Nor), A Wu (Chn), A Arnaus (Esp), M Madsen (Den), R McEvoy (Eng), J Singh Brar (Eng), B Ritthammer (Ger), J Dantorp (Swe), N Elvira (Esp), K Kitayama (USA), C Shinkwin (Eng), S Sharma (Ind), R Ramsay (Sco), L Jensen (Den), T Detry (Bel),

73 D Howell (Eng), V Perez (Fra), A Chesters (Eng), F Bergamaschi (Ita), J Winther (Den), S Brown (Eng), K Samooja (Fin), N Cullen (Aus), M Kieffer (Ger), R Wattel (Fra), M Kawamura (Jpn), A Sullivan (Eng), R Karlsson (Swe), L Johnston (Sco), H Leon (Chi), I Cantero Gutierrez (Esp),

74 A Rai (Eng), D Gaunt (Aus), J Senior (Eng), P Langfors (Swe), S Hend (Aus), A Bland (Aus), A Pavan (Ita), C Gloet (Den), D Law (Sco), R Fox (Nzl), S Kjeldsen (Den), S Crocker (USA), J Smith (Eng), G Moynihan (Irl), L Gagli (Ita),

75 B Evans (Eng), R Jacquelin (Fra), P Figueiredo (Por), J Campillo (Esp), O Jørgensen (Den), D Lawson (Aus),

76 N Tinning (Den), R Paratore (Ita), B Dredge (Wal), S Kim (USA), J McLeod (Aus), J Huldahl (Den), G Green (Mas),

77 R Gouveia (Por), D Borda (Esp),

78 G Kristjansson (Isl),

79 D Gavins (Eng),

** P Hanson (Swe), M Manassero (Ita)

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Ireland 23
Georgia 10
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 10077 votes
11% - 2706 votes
19% - 4556 votes
2% - 596 votes
1% - 228 votes
2% - 553 votes
5% - 1188 votes
8% - 2001 votes
3% - 814 votes
Water sports
1% - 214 votes
American sports
1% - 298 votes
3% - 776 votes