European Tour

Bjorn shares first round lead

Thomas Bjorn (Gallo)
Thomas Bjorn (Gallo)

Copenhagen - Former Ryder Cup winner Thomas Bjorn shared the first round lead at the Danish Open on Thursday with Chile's Felipe Aguilar and Welshman Bradley Dredge on five under par.

Home favourite Bjorn, who was part of the Ryder Cup winning teams in 1997 and 2002, as well as finishing runner-up at the British Open in 2000 and 2003, enjoyed five birdies during a bogey free round as he delighted the home fans at the Himmerland Golf and Spa resort in Aalborg,

"It was a tricky day today(Thursday) with the wind, especially on my back nine. But I drove the ball really well and that gives you opportunities on this golf course," said Denmark's Bjorn, who is on the verge of sealing a place in Paul McGinley's European Ryder Cup team to play the USA at Gleneagles in September.

"So I'm happy with the day, happy with the start and it was pretty solid all the way round."

Aguilar, who is chasing a third European victory but has slipped to 137 in the world, rode a run of three straight birdies on the back nine to also card a score of 66 on the par-71 layout.

Dredge, 41, a two-time European Tour winner, overcame a second hole bogey to rattle home five birdies on his last seven holes to share the lead with Bjorn and Aguilar after 18 holes.

Home player Thorbjorn Olesen was in second place on 69, three shots off the pace.

Leading and selected Danish Open first round scores on Thursday (GBR/IRL unless stated; par 71):

66 - Felipe Aguilar (CHI), Thomas Bjorn (DEN), Bradley Dredge

69 - Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

70 - Kim Sihwan (KOR), Roope Kakko (FIN), Daniel Gaunt (AUS), Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL), Shiv Shankar Prasad Chowrasia (IND), Peter Lawrie, Andrew Marshall, Phillip Archer, Andreas Harto (DEN)

71 - Soren Kjeldsen (DEN), Richard Bland, Patrik Sjoland (SWE), Garrick Porteous, Mikko Korhonen (Fin), Morten Orum Madsen (Den), Simon Wakefield, Scott Jamieson, Johan Carlsson (SWE), Lee Slattery, Emiliano Grillo (ARG), David Drysdale, Marc Warren, Andrea Pavan (ITA), Wade Ormsby (AUS)

72 - Mikael Lundberg (SWE), Lasse Jensen (DEN), Daniel Im (USA), Steven Jeppesen (SWE), Berry Henson (USA), Edouard Dubois (FRA), Tom Lewis, Gary Stal (FRA), Kenneth Ferrie, Andy Sullivan, Andrew McArthur, Chris Hanson, David Lipsky (USA), Christopher Doak

73 - Damien McGrane, Brandon Stone (RSA), Jorge Campillo (ESP), Robert Rock, Victor Riu (FRA), Eddie Pepperell, Michael Hoey, Craig Lee, Jeev Milkha Singh (IND), Shiv Kapur (IND), Matthew Nixon, Rasmus Hjelm (DEN), Stuart Manley, Rikard Karlberg (SWE), Sam Walker, Romain Wattel (FRA), Gaganjeet Bhullar (IND), Mark Foster, Thomas Levet (FRA)


74 - Brett Rumford (AUS)

75 - Merrick Bremner (RSA)

76 - James Kingston (RSA), Keith Horne (RSA), Richard Green (AUS)

78 - Haydn Porteous (RSA)

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
41% - 12327 votes
12% - 3686 votes
19% - 5595 votes
3% - 778 votes
1% - 297 votes
2% - 703 votes
5% - 1539 votes
8% - 2525 votes
3% - 1047 votes
Water sports
1% - 272 votes
American sports
1% - 385 votes
3% - 1007 votes