Grace SA's best bet at Sun City

Cape Town - South Africa's new No 1 golfer, Branden Grace, will lead the local charge at this week's Nedbank Golf Challenge at the Gary Player Golf Club at Sun City.

Grace, listed at No 15 in the latest world rankings, has been installed as the second-favourite for the tournament starting on Thursday.

Leading SA bookmakers Sportingbet have Grace on offer at 9/1.

Sweden's Henrik Stenson, at No 7 the highest-ranked player in the 30-man field, tops the odds at 13/2. Stenson lifted the trophy back in 2008.

Charl Schwartzel, a winner last week at the Alfred Dunhill Championship at Leopard Creek, is on offer at 11/1, followed by last year's winner at Sun City, England's Danny Willett at 12/1.

South African Louis Oosthuizen looks at attractive bet at 16/1...

Round 1 tee-times:

10:10 - Marc Leishman (Australia), Søren Kjeldsen (Denmark), Webb Simpson (United States)

10:21 - Thongchai Jaidee (Thailand), Robert Streb (United States), Scott Piercy (United States)

10:32 - Russell Knox (Scotland), Bernd Wiesberger (Austria), Andy Sullivan (England)

10:43 -Tommy Fleetwood (England), Thomas Aiken (South Africa), Martin Kaymer (Germany)

10:54 - Matthew Fitzpatrick (England), Ross Fisher (England), Keegan Bradley (United States)

11:05 - Shane Lowry (Ireland), Lee Westwood (England), Emiliano Grillo (Argentina)

11:16 -Steven Bowditch (Australia), Byeong Hun An (South Korea), Branden Grace (South Africa)

11:27 -Miguel Angel Jiménez (Spain), Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Thailand), Chris Wood (England)

11:38 - Jaco van Zyl (South Africa), Victor Dubuisson (France), Charl Schwartzel (South Africa)

11:49 -Henrik Stenson (Sweden), Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa), Danny Willett (England)

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
India 325/10 & 69/0
New Zealand 62/10
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 5542 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
7% - 936 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
20% - 2886 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
34% - 4724 votes