PGA Tour

Rose's honesty costs him

Justin Rose (AFP)
Justin Rose (AFP)

Dublin - Justin Rose's honesty cost him a chance to play the weekend at the Memorial Tournament after a self-called penalty on Friday left him one stroke outside the cutline.

Rose, who will defend his US Open title in two weeks, struck the ball twice while chipping out of the rough at the par-three 12th at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio.

The Englishman dropped his club as soon as he realized his ball made contact with the club during his follow-through.

Television replays proved inconclusive, but Rose docked himself one stroke anyway, rendering birdies at the final two holes of little use.

He shot 72 for a one-over 145, missing the cut by a stroke.

Earlier this month, Rose was the subject of an unusual ruling at the Players Championship.

He was originally penalized two strokes because his ball moved very slightly just off the back of the 18th green after he had placed his wedge behind it.

However, the penalty was rescinded the next day as officials subsequently decided the ball did not move enough to be visible to the naked eye, but only through a close-up television replay.

Fellow European Rory McIlroy also called a penalty stroke on himself for a double-hit on Friday.

McIlroy's incident occurred during a bunker shot at the 15th hole.

The first round leader went on to shoot 78 to fall nine strokes behind halfway pacesetter Paul Casey.

loading... Live
England 153/3 (62.4 ov)
West Indies 0
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
Rugby
45% - 4271 votes
Cricket
11% - 1071 votes
Football
18% - 1706 votes
Athletics
2% - 190 votes
Boxing
1% - 80 votes
Cycling
2% - 194 votes
Golf
5% - 475 votes
Motorsport
8% - 730 votes
Tennis
3% - 299 votes
Water sports
1% - 70 votes
American sports
1% - 70 votes
MMA / WWE / UFC
3% - 247 votes
Vote