Sunshine Tour

Walters scoops top award

Justin Walters (AFP)
Justin Walters (AFP)

Pretoria - The 2013 Sunshine Tour Players’ Awards function was held at a function in Pretoria on Monday evening, with Justin Walters named for the prestigious Commissioner’s Award.

While he failed to win a tournament on the Sunshine Tour in 2013, Walters was praised for his "dignity" when coming second in the Portugal Masters on the European Tour.

Darren Fichardt won the approval of his peers as he took the Players’ Player of the Year award.

Fichardt, who was narrowly beaten to the 2013 Sunshine Tour Order of Merit by Dawie van der Walt, won the Africa Open in 2013, and had three other top-10 finishes.

Jaco van Zyl was named Golf Writers’ Player of the Year for his three victories on the 2013 Sunshine Tour. He topped a poll of local golf media who chose from a short list which included Van der Walt, Jacques Blaauw -- who won three tournaments last year -- and veteran Andrew Curlewis, who won twice.

2013 Sunshine Tour Players’ Awards:

Sid Brews Trophy:

Winner Sunshine Tour Order of Merit (leading money winner) 2013: Dawie van der Walt (R5,094,332.50)

Bobby Locke Trophy:

Winner Sunshine Tour Rookie of the Year 2013: Dylan Frittelli

Gary Player Trophy:

Winner Sunshine Tour Stroke Average (played two-thirds of Order of Merit tournaments) 2013: Ulrich van den Berg

Golf Writers’ Player of the Year:

Winner of a poll of South African golf media from players who qualified for 2013 Order of Merit: Jaco van Zyl

Players’ Player of the Year:

Winner of a poll of the top 100 players on the 2013 Order of Merit 2013: Darren Fichardt

Commissioner’s Award 2013: Justin Walters

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Crystal Palace 1
Brighton and Hove Albion 0
Voting Booth
After the opening weekend of URC action, what did you make of the South African struggles?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It exposed the quality of South African rugby...
40% - 486 votes
There were positives to take
7% - 90 votes
We shouldn't read too much into one weekend
17% - 209 votes
It will take the SA sides time to adjust to the new competition
36% - 433 votes