Golf RSA breaks ground with first national squad

Tristen Strydom (Catherine Kotze / SASPA)
Tristen Strydom (Catherine Kotze / SASPA)

Cape Town - Golf RSA, the governing body for amateur golf in South Africa, has announced a national squad of 34 players for 2016.

The squad will be made up of some of the country’s most talented young amateurs and will feature players from the top of the open amateur and junior amateur rankings, plus a good mix of promising youngsters who have the potential to become great players.

South Africa’s top ranked amateur Tristen Strydom spearheads the group of Open Amateurs, while the country’s number one ranked junior Ross Sinclair leads the way in the Under-19 section.

South African Golf Development Board member Banele Mavusa from Mpumalanga and Wilco Nienaber from Free State, who shared the Most Valuable Player honours in the B-Section at the recent South African Under-19 Inter-Provincial, are also among the 2016 inductees.

Funded by businessman Johann Rupert, one of the main objectives of the National Squad is to ensure that should players opt to turn professional, they are well prepared for the rigours of the paid ranks.

“We believe that by enhancing the players’ amateur experiences and opportunities, we can produce stronger national teams and provide individuals with the best preparation for life as golf professionals,” explained Golf RSA CEO Grant Hepburn.

“That’s where the National Squad comes in. Thanks to the generosity of Mr Rupert, we are able to provide funding, support, advice, training camps and, ultimately, playing opportunities for the best of South Africa’s young golfing talent.

“Womens Golf South Africa are nominating their own National Squad early next year. The squad will receive funding from Golf RSA and their Elite Squad players will be invited to attend our National Squad camps.”

The National Squad will provide a valuable platform for talented golfers to further develop their skills and showcase themselves through competition, locally and on the world stage.

Players on the fringe of selection to the National Squad will also benefit from squad funding via their provincial unions, and will be closely monitored. These players will have a chance to play their way into the squad through good performances.


Seniors (19)

Albert Venter

Andre Nel

Anuerin Gounden

Aubrey Beckley

Darin de Smidt

David Meyers

Dylan Naidoo

Dylon Jacobs

Hayden Garcia

Jade Buitendag

James du Preez

Jason Smith

Jovan Rebula

Kyle McLatchie

Luke Trocado

Matt Saulez

Sentanio Minnie

Steven le Roux

Tristen Strydom

Juniors (15)

Banele Mavuso

Cole Stevens

Dylan Mostert

Franklin Manchest

Herman Loubser

Jordan Duminy

Karabo Mokoena

Keegan Mclachlan

Keelan van Wyk

Luca Filippi

Luke Mayo

Marco Steyn

Martin Vorster

Ross Sinclair

Wilco Nienaber

loading... Live
England 0
West Indies 0
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 3683 votes
11% - 877 votes
18% - 1408 votes
2% - 154 votes
1% - 66 votes
2% - 166 votes
5% - 403 votes
8% - 610 votes
3% - 245 votes
Water sports
1% - 64 votes
American sports
1% - 61 votes
3% - 209 votes