IAAF snubs Semenya for top female athlete award

Caster Semenya (Getty Images)
Caster Semenya (Getty Images)

Cape Town - World 800m champion Caster Semenya has not made the top five shortlist for the 2018 IAAF Female Athlete of the Year award.

The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) announced on Monday the names of the five female finalists with Semenya missing out.

Earlier this month, Semenya won big at the South African Sports Awards, winning the Sports Star of the Year, the Sportswoman of the Year and People's Choice Award.

It has been a stellar season for Semenya as she retained her 800m IAAF Diamond League title.

The 27-year-old took the 800m and 1 500m double at the Commonwealth Games at the Gold Coast and won the 800m and 400m at the African Championships.

She also broke the 400m and 1 500m SA record and shattered the 800m and 1 000m African record.

READ: IAAF gender rules 'killing' next generation - Caster

Recently, the IAAF announced it had agreed to postpone by five months the implementation of controversial new rules on high testosterone levels in female athletes.

Semenya and Athletics South Africa (ASA) are challenging the proposal before the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS).

Her hearing was pushed back to February, with the possible start of the IAAF's rule on March 26.

Meanwhile, the IAAF male finalists will be announced on Tuesday, November 20 where South Africa's Luvo Manyonga has been shortlisted.

The IAAF Athletics Awards takes place on Tuesday, December 4 in Monaco.

IAAF Female of the Year award finalists:

Dina Asher-Smith (GBR)

Beatrice Chepkoech (KEN)

Caterine Ibarguen (COL)

Shaunae Miller-Uibo (BAH)

Nafissatou Thiam (BEL)

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 3612 votes
11% - 857 votes
18% - 1387 votes
2% - 147 votes
1% - 64 votes
2% - 163 votes
5% - 397 votes
8% - 596 votes
3% - 238 votes
Water sports
1% - 64 votes
American sports
1% - 60 votes
3% - 203 votes