Albasini takes Romandie lead

Michael Albasini (Getty Images)
Michael Albasini (Getty Images)

Lausanne - Switzerland's Michael Albasini won the second stage of the Tour of Switzerland on Thursday to also earn the overall race leader's jersey.

The Orica GreenEDGE rider outsprinted Frenchman Tony Hurel and Italy's Giacomo Nizzolo at the end of a 166.5km stage from Sion to Montreux.

Poland's Michal Kwiatkowski had begun the day in the leader's yellow jersey but lost out to Albasini due to time bonuses on the finishing line.

Albasini, 33, had also won Wednesday's first stage in another mass bunch sprint and the 20 seconds he gained in winning those two stages have now given him a 5-second lead over OPQS's Kwiatkowski in the standings, with Lithuania's Ramunas Navardauskas third a further five seconds back.

The Swiss rider's victory continued Australian outfit Orica's recent good form after Simon Gerrans won Sunday's Liege-Bastogne-Liege race.

Kwiatkowski, who was fifth in Montreux, has also maintained his good form since the Ardennes Classics - he was fifth at the Amstel Gold Race and third in both the Fleche Wallonne and Liege-Bastogne-Liege - winning Tuesday's opening prologue.

Friday's third stage takes the peloton over 180km from Le Bouveret to Aigle with four brutal first category climbs along the way.

Tour de France champion Chris Froome, 10th on Thursday's stage, is currently eighth overall at 19 seconds but will be hoping to test his legs in the mountains on Friday after a difficult last month blighted by injury and illness.


1. Michael Albasini (Switzerland / Orica) 4:12:22"
2. Tony Hurel (France / Europcar) ST
3. Giacomo Nizzolo (Italy / Trek)
4. Alexey Tsatevich (Russia / Katusha)
5. Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step)
6. Maxim Iglinskiy (Kazakhstan / Astana)
7. Tosh Van der Sande (Belgium / Lotto)
8. Ramunas Navardauskas (Lithuania / Garmin)
9. Danilo Wyss (Switzerland / BMC Racing)
10. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky)
11. Mathias Frank (Switzerland / IAM Cycling)
12. Moreno Hofland (Netherlands / Belkin)
13. Luka Mezgec (Slovenia / Giant)
14. Rohan Dennis (Australia / Garmin)
15. Roberto Ferrari (Italy / Lampre)
16. Andrew Talansky (US / Garmin)
17. Bjoern Thurau (Germany / Europcar)
18. Nino Schurter (Switzerland / Orica)
19. Andre Cardoso (Portugal / Garmin)
20. Paolo Longo Borghini (Italy / Cannondale)


1. Michael Albasini (Switzerland / Orica) 6:29:50"
2. Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +5"
3. Ramunas Navardauskas (Lithuania / Garmin) +10"
4. Jesus Herrada (Spain / Movistar) +11"
5. Matthias Braendle (Austria / IAM Cycling) +12"
6. Rohan Dennis (Australia / Garmin) +13"
7. Tony Martin (Germany / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +14"
8. Martijn Keizer (Netherlands / Belkin) +18"
9. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky) +19"
10. Jon Izagirre (Spain / Movistar)
11. Rui Costa (Portugal / Lampre) +21"
12. Andrew Talansky (US / Garmin)
13. Georg Preidler (Austria / Giant)
14. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Astana)
15. Simon Spilak (Slovenia / Katusha) +22"
16. Rigoberto Uran (Colombia / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +23"
17. Sergey Chernetsky (Russia / Katusha)
18. Jonathan Castroviejo (Spain / Movistar) +24"
19. Stef Clement (Netherlands / Belkin)
20. Mathias Frank (Switzerland / IAM Cycling) +25"

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
With the Springboks losing their last two matches against Australia, how concerned are you?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Very concerned! Something is not right ...
58% - 3139 votes
I'm not worried. Every team has a bad game. The Boks will bounce back.
18% - 942 votes
It's too early to tell. Let's see how they go against the All Blacks.
24% - 1292 votes