Bakelants wins sixth stage

Jan Bakelants (AFP Photo)
Jan Bakelants (AFP Photo)

Poisy - Belgian Jan Bakelants, riding for Omega Pharma-Quick Step, won the sixth stage of the Criterium du Dauphine on Friday while overall leader Chris Froome recovered from a nasty crash to keep the yellow jersey.

Bakelants, 28 and a Tour de France yellow jersey holder for two stages last year, won a two-man sprint against Dutch time-trial champion Lieuwe Westra after the duo broke free of an escape group down the stretch.

The stage covered 178.5km from Grenoble to Poisy with third place going to Czech rider Zdenek Stybar, who won a sprint from a small group 24 seconds behind the leaders.

Froome, the defending Tour de France champion, came home with his jersey and shorts shredded after crashing with 7.5km to race.

He lost over a minute on the peloton but sportsmanship prevailed as main rival Alberto Contador and the rest of the pack waited for Froome to catch up.

The Kenyan-born British Sky rider had deep grazes and cuts across his back, shoulder, elbow and hip as he arrived over four minutes behind Bakelants.

With Saturday's decisive mountain stage on the penultimate day, Froome is certain to be attacked by Contador who lies 12 seconds back.

Also tied for second is Dutchman Wilco Kelderman who closed the gap on Contador during Thursday's fifth stage.


1. Jan Bakelants (Belgium / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) 4:07:20"
2. Lieuwe Westra (Netherlands / Astana) ST
3. Zdenek Stybar (Czech Republic / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +24"
4. Pim Ligthart (Netherlands / Lotto)
5. Jens Keukeleire (Belgium / Orica)
6. Jens Voigt (Germany / Trek)
7. Maciej Bodnar (Poland / Cannondale)
8. Bram Tankink (Netherlands / Belkin)
9. Valerio Conti (Italy / Lampre)
10. Julien Simon (France / Cofidis)


1. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky) 23:12:15"
2. Alberto Contador (Spain / Tinkoff - Saxo) +12"
3. Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands / Belkin)
4. Andrew Talansky (U.S. / Garmin) +33"
5. Jurgen Van den Broeck (Belgium / Lotto) +35"
6. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Astana) +50"
7. Haimar Zubeldia (Spain / Trek) +1:22"
8. Jakob Fuglsang (Denmark / Astana)
9. Adam Yates (Britain / Orica) +1:24"
10. Tanel Kangert (Estonia / Astana) +1:35"

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
40% - 14122 votes
13% - 4383 votes
19% - 6575 votes
3% - 903 votes
1% - 341 votes
2% - 813 votes
5% - 1766 votes
8% - 2976 votes
3% - 1225 votes
Water sports
1% - 320 votes
American sports
1% - 433 votes
3% - 1169 votes