Ewan wins stage 2, Sky protect overall lead

Caleb Ewan (Getty Images)
Caleb Ewan (Getty Images)

Melbourne - Caleb Ewan won a tough second stage of the Herald Sun Tour in Australia on Friday, but Team Sky's Peter Kennaugh and Chris Froome did enough to stay on top in the overall standings.

Rising Australian sprinter Ewan, who won two stages of the Tour Down Under last month, completed the 144.2-kilometre stage in three hours, 29 minutes and six seconds.

The 21-year-old Orica GreenEDGE rider came in just ahead of American Tanner Putt (UHC) and Sky team-mates Kennaugh and Froome, followed by Australian Jack Bobridge (Trek-Segafredo).

"On the final climb I knew Bobridge and Kennaugh were strong," Ewan said.

"I fought for dear life and was able to stay with them. It's a real confidence boost to be able to win on terrain like this when it's tough."

British road champion and Olympic gold medallist Kennaugh, who won the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race last week, leads the overall standings on 6hr 33min 21sec, 13 seconds ahead of two-time Tour de France winner Froome.

Friday's race, which began in the grazing farmlands of South Gippsland's Yarra Junction and ended in the town of Moe, saw several riders break away early.

But they were ultimately reeled in by the peloton driven by Orica-GreenEDGE and Team Sky.

Bobridge made a move towards the end, with Kennaugh, Ewan and Australia's Jack Haig (Orica-GreenEDGE) going with him and Froome and Putt joining the group soon after.

The six fought it out to the finish line with Ewan crossing first.

"I gave it one last dig at the end but I knew it was always going to be hard to shake Caleb off," said Kennaugh.

The race has its longest stage of 146.2 kilometres on Saturday before Sunday's final stage of 121.8 kilometres which ends in Arthurs Seat in the Mornington Peninsula.

Results and standings after the second stage of the Herald Sun Tour in Australia's Victoria state on Friday:

Stage two

1. Caleb Ewan (AUS/OGE) 03hr 29min 06sec, 2. Tanner Putt (USA/UHC) same time, 3. Peter Kennaugh (ENG/SKY) at 03sec, 4. Chris Froome (ENG/SKY) at 05sec, 5. Jack Bobridge (AUS/TFS) same time.


1. Peter Kennaugh (ENG/SKY) 06hr 33min 21sec, 2. Chris Froome (ENG/SKY) at 13sec, 3. Jack Bobridge (AUS/TFS) at 31sec, 4. Jack Haig (AUS/OGE) at 48sec, 5. Dion Smith (NZL/ONE) at 52sec.

loading... Live
England 0
Pakistan 223/9 (86 ov)
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5988 votes
11% - 1491 votes
19% - 2580 votes
2% - 314 votes
1% - 126 votes
2% - 308 votes
5% - 667 votes
8% - 1114 votes
3% - 424 votes
Water sports
1% - 123 votes
American sports
1% - 134 votes
3% - 398 votes