Livesaving SA wins Federation of the Year award

Dylan Tommy (File)
Dylan Tommy (File)

Cape Town - Lifesaving South Africa (LSA) has won the South Africa's Sports Federation of the Year award.

It is the first time Lifesaving South Africa has won the prestigious award in a year when the sport received a major commercial investment from General Tire South Africa and Princes Charlene of Monaco was confirmed as the Patron of Lifesaving South Africa.

LSA beat off the challenge of Netball South Africa and Surfing South Africa.

The SA Sports Awards took place on Sunday, November 12 at Emperors Palace in Johannesburg.

LSA President Dylan Tommy, on the Federation's nomination and success, hailed those who give so effortlessly of their time and who believe so much in the value of life.

"We are inspired by our lifeguards and sportsmen and women who continue to push themselves in the sport and who give of their time voluntarily to keep our beaches, pools and public swimming areas safe," said Tommy, who was also nominated as one of the three finalists for Administrator of the Year.

"Lifesaving plays a very important role in South African communities and is the only sport that is focused around saving lives."

Tommy also thanked General Tire SA, the three-year investment and for recognising the role Lifesaving plays in society and also the standing it can have in the South African sporting environment.

"With investment from our new national sponsor General Tire, we have been able to elevate the sport of lifesaving in our country, allowing LSA to proudly stand on the podium with Netball SA and Surfing SA. The award is a credit to everyone involved in Lifesaving and recognition of those daily and on-going efforts," said Tommy.

Full list of winners:

Federation of the Year: Lifesaving SA

Administrator of the Year: Sanelisiwe Khuzwayo

School Team of the Year: St. Mary's School

Developing School Team of the Year: Hlangabeza Primary School (Under-13 Chess)

Indigenous Games Team of the Year award: North West Kho-Kho Team

Recreation Body of the Year: In-Touch Community Support Group

Photographer of the Year: Simphiwe Nkwali

Journalist of the Year: OG Molefe

Newcomer of the Year: Sokwakhana Zazini

Team of the Year: Springbok Sevens

Sportsman of the Year with a Disability: Dyan Buis

Volunteer of the Year: Samuel Maduwa

Coach of the Year: Jean Verster

Sportswomen of the Year with a Disability: Ilse Hayes

Sportsman of the Year: Luvo Manyonga

Sportswoman of the Year: Caster Semenya

People's Choice Sports Star of the Year: Caster Semenya

Sports Star of the Year: Luvo Manyonga

loading... Live
Newcastle United 1
West Ham United 1
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 3429 votes
11% - 811 votes
18% - 1326 votes
2% - 144 votes
1% - 60 votes
2% - 155 votes
5% - 375 votes
7% - 538 votes
3% - 232 votes
Water sports
1% - 63 votes
American sports
1% - 57 votes
3% - 193 votes