7 SA players nominated for PRO14 dream team

Makazole Mapimpi (Gallo)
Makazole Mapimpi (Gallo)

Durban - Springbok winger Makazole Mapimpi, who will be in action against Argentina in the Rugby Championship clash in Durban on Saturday, is one of seven South Africans who are in line to make the PRO14 Dream Team of the season for 2017/18. 

The other players nominated from the Cheetahs and Southern Kings are Ox Nche (prop), Torsten van Jaarsveld (hooker), Oupa Mohoje (flanker), Reniel Hugo (lock), Bobby de Wee (lock), and Uzair Cassiem (No 8). 

Teams from each of the five participating nations have been included in the 45-man shortlist, which features three players in each position. The PRO14 Dream Team will be announced at Monday night’s Awards ceremony and 2018/19 Season Launch Party in Glasgow. 

More than 75 members of the media, including former players and coaches, took part in the voting process, and for the first time, the top three nominees for each position have been listed in advance of the awards.

With Leinster Rugby and Scarlets reaching the first-ever PRO14 Final, a number of their players have dominated the voting by the media. With voting taking place at the end of the season it allowed for the media to select from more eligible players than ever before as a minimum of nine appearances were required in order to be selected.

The PRO14 Dream Team captain will also be present in Glasgow on Monday night. 

2017/18 Guinness PRO14 Dream Team nominees: 

Loosehead prop

Rob Evans (Scarlets)

Ox Nche (Cheetahs)

Cian Healy (Leinster Rugby)


Sean Cronin (Leinster Rugby)

Torsten van Jaarsveld (Cheetahs)

Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby)

Tighthead prop

Andrew Porter (Leinster Rugby)

Samson Lee (Scarlets)

Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 


Scott Fardy (Leinster Rugby)

Bobby de Wee (Southern Kings)

Devin Toner (Leinster Rugby)

Tadhg Beirne (Scarlets)

Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys)

Reniel Hugo (Cheetahs) 

Blindside flanker

Aaron Shingler (Scarlets)

Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues)

Oupa Mohoje (Cheetahs) 

Openside flanker

James Davies (Scarlets)

Callum Gibbins (Glasgow Warriors)

Jordi Murphy (Leinster Rugby) 

No 8

Jack Conan (Leinster Rugby)

Uzair Cassiem (Cheetahs)

Nick Williams (Cardiff Blues) 


John Cooney (Ulster Rugby)

Luke McGrath (Leinster Rugby)

Gareth Davies (Scarlets) 


Rhys Patchell (Scarlets)

Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues)

Ross Byrne (Leinster Rugby) 

Left Wing

Jacob Stockdale (Ulster Rugby)

Makazole Mapimpi (Cheetahs)

James Lowe (Leinster Rugby) 

Inside Centre

Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets)

Rory Scannell (Munster Rugby)

Bundee Aki (Connacht Rugby) 

Outside Centre

Sammy Arnold (Munster Rugby)

Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors)

Willis Halaholo (Cardiff Blues) 

Right Wing

Jordan Larmour (Leinster Rugby)

Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets)

Andrew Conway (Munster Rugby) 


Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby)

Charles Piutau (Ulster Rugby)

Matteo Minozzi (Zebre Rugby Club)

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 4162 votes
11% - 1036 votes
18% - 1648 votes
2% - 185 votes
1% - 79 votes
2% - 189 votes
5% - 462 votes
8% - 705 votes
3% - 292 votes
Water sports
1% - 68 votes
American sports
1% - 70 votes
3% - 240 votes